Coconut Bars (Grain Free)

Hi there!  I think it’s about time I posted a treat on here.  We’ve finally finished up the last of the holiday goodies that were lingering in our freezer and I’m ready to head into the brave new world of baking for 2012.  These coconut bars were just the thing to get me started.  They’re dense and rich with the perfect amount of sweetness, but the ingredients list is somewhat virtuous.  At least it’s virtuous is you’re like me and believe that coconut fat isn’t really fat…it’s a superfood.  Yes, I did eat 2 for breakfast yesterday.  And 2 more as a post-workout snack today.

They have the boyfriend’s stamp of approval, too.  Or at least I assume they do because I left the pan unattended with Jeremy and his friend for a few hours yesterday and when I got home, half of the bars were gone.

Please enjoy!  I’m off to get my clinical prep done before my earrrrrrly morning at the hospital tomorrow.

Coconut Bars
makes 16
adapted (just slightly) from Elana’s Pantry

Ingredients
– 3 eggs
– 1 cup unsweetened coconut milk beverage (I realized later that the original recipe is referring to the thick coconut milk that you get in a can.  You can choose your own calorie adventure here.)
– 1/3 cup coconut oil, melted
– 1/3 cup honey
– 1 Tbs vanilla extract
– 1/2 cup almond flour
– 2 Tbs coconut flour
– 1 1/2 cups unsweetened shredded coconut
– 1/4 tsp sea salt

1. Preheat oven to 350.  In a large bowl, mix eggs, coconut milk, coconut oil, honey, and vanilla.  The mixture may want to separate, just do your best.

2. Add almond flour, coconut flour, shredded coconut, and salt.  Mix well.

3. Pour the batter into an 8×8 and bake for 30 minutes.  Allow to cool and serve.

* I added this post to this week’s Hearth and Soul Hop, Whole Foods Wednesdays, Real Food Wednesday, These Chicks CookedGluten-Free WednesdayTraditional TuesdayFat Tuesday, Superfood Sunday, and Slightly Indulgent Tuesday.

17 thoughts on “Coconut Bars (Grain Free)

  1. These sound right up my alley! I’m a big fan of coconut flour right now (I made coconut lemon muffins today…). These sounds really dense and yummy!

    • I gotta say that I’m still learning how to use coconut flour and feel a little timid with it. It’s so absorbent, it seems like some finesse is required to make it work. I’m getting there though!

      • I am a first time visitor, via a link from Ann Marie at Cheeseslave, and I have to say, we’re off to a good start! These seem (and look) like they might be akin to coconut butter mochi (a treat I’ve only had in Hawaii). I am definitely making these tomorrow and if they turn out as good as I think they will, well, we might be friends for life… you know what I’m sayin’?
        I am a bit timid with coconut flour too and right now I only use it in a 25% ratio with almond flour. What I DO know about baking with coconut flour is this: success is greatly improved when you increase the eggs, by quite a lot!

      • Thanks for the coconut flour tip! Coconut butter mochi sounds incredible, I might just have to book a trip to Hawaii to get my hands on some 🙂

        I hope you like the way the bars turn out!

  2. I love a good coconut treat! I’ve never really understood all the hate that coconuts get… In any case, I’m making these this weekend!

  3. oooh I just love a coconut treat. Great use of all natural ingredients and they look so moist! Can’t wait to try this out.
    I am hosting whole food wednesdays tomorrow at beyondthepeel.net. I hope you’ll come share this with us. All natural desserts are hard to come by.
    Have a great week.

  4. Anything coconut is gooood! I like that you ate them for breakfast. This might be a nice little diversion from my usual bacon and eggs and I bet my hubs wouldn’t mind either.

  5. Pingback: Sunday Snippets: February 5, 2012

  6. Your coconut bars look fantastic! I have all of the ingredients on hand so they will probably be gracing my table very soon! Thanks for sharing your delicious recipe with the Hearth and Soul Hop.

  7. O.k., I made them and while different in texture than butter mochi (which uses rice flour) they are definitely a keeper. The second day we had them with coconut milk ice cream and pineapple… I think you could probably justify that for breakfast!
    I used Hawaiian Sun brand coconut milk, which comes frozen, and I have to say: it is THE best coconut milk I’ve ever tasted used. Super thick and sweet with zero additives, just coconut. Next time I visit Hawaii I’m bringing home a whole cooler full!
    Thanks again for the recipe.

  8. Pingback: Hearth and Soul Hop with Premeditated Leftovers 2/7 | Premeditated Leftovers

Leave a comment