A Recipe for St. Patrick’s Day – Cream-Braised Cabbage

If you are at all skeptical about how delicious cabbage can be, I have the recipe for you.  And just in time for St. Patrick’s day.  I actually made this last week after coming across the recipe on the blog Bon Appetempt.  You see, I had half a head of cabbage that was threatening to waste away in the bottom of my refrigerator.  I was having trouble becoming inspired enough to make it into my favorite coleslaw or sauerkraut…and this recipe changed my plans entirely.  I ended up skimping a bit on the cream compared with the original recipe because I realized that I was probably going to eat the entire pan in one sitting, which I did.  It was still plenty decadent for me, but you could always bump it up a notch if you plan on more reasonable serving sizes than I did.

Excellent.

Sorry for the short post today.  I’m wrapping up the school term and so it’s been a doozy of a week…good but busy!

Cream-Braised Cabbage
serves 2-3
adapted from Bon Appetempt

Ingredients
– 1/2 a head of green cabbage (cut lengthwise)
– 2 Tbsp butter
– a pinch of salt, plus more to taste
– 2 Tbsp heavy cream, more if you like
– a squeeze of fresh lemon juice

Cut your cabbage into 4 pieces, slicing lengthwise so that each piece will retain a bit of the core.  This will help keep the pieces together as you cook them.

Melt the butter in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add the cabbage slices and cook for 5-8 minutes, until the bottoms are starting to turn a nice golden-brown.  Gently turn the wedges to the other side and allow to brown again.  Add the salt and the cream and cover the pan with a lid.  Reduce heat to medium and allow to cook until everything is nice and tender, about 15 minutes.

Squeeze lemon juice over cabbage and serve.  Understand just how mouthwatering cabbage can be.
 

3 thoughts on “A Recipe for St. Patrick’s Day – Cream-Braised Cabbage

  1. This sounds so good! I saw something similar recently, but have not tried it. I know cabbage is great, but the only way I usually eat it is as sauerkraut…and I need a little variety!

Leave a comment