Asian Sesame Slaw (Vegan, Gluten-free)

Good morning!  How are everyone’s New Year’s resolutions going?  We’re almost a week into the new year and so I hope they’re still going strong!  My resolutions are about the same every year, which should give you an idea of about how successful I am at keeping them.  🙂  I like to think that I’m inching closer to my goals, though.  For example, when I make a resolution to “eat healthy food”, I have an image of myself always choosing broccoli over ice cream and never, ever stuffing myself with pizza to the point that I just want to go lay down.  That image is just not my reality and may not ever be.  But I do think that I’m doing better than last year and believe I can do even better than this year.  Maybe it’s best to just think of resolutions as friendly reminders rather than commandments set in stone.  Just a thought…how do you make your resolutions useful?

Well, because eating healthy food usually involves some vegetables (or LOTS of vegetables), here’s a recipe to help extend those healthy resolutions into another week of 2012.  This Asian Sesame Slaw contains a good deal of cabbage, a lovely cruciferous vegetable that has been found to have anti-cancer properties when eaten raw.  Since different varieties of cabbage contain different cancer-figthing compounds (called glucosinolates) you’ll maximize your health benefits by eating a variety of cabbage types.  This recipe uses red cabbage and savoy cabbage so your bases will be covered.

Eat up for a healthy new year!

Asian Sesame Slaw
serves at least 10
adapted from My New Roots 

Ingredients
– 3 cups red cabbage, thinly sliced or shredded (I used the slicer blade on my food processor and got the perfect “slaw” consistency)
– 1 cup savoy cabbage, thinly sliced or shredded
– about 5 leaves lacinato kale, thinly sliced
– 2 carrots, thinly sliced or shredded
– 2 scallions, finely sliced
– 1 cup flat leaf parsley, chopped
– 1/2 cup toasted sesame seeds
– 2 Tbs olive oil
– 1 Tbs lemon juice
– 2 Tbs rice vinegar
– 1 Tbs honey
– 1/3 cup tahini
– a few pinches of salt, to taste

1. In a large bowl, combine cabbage, kale, carrots, scallions, parsley, and sesame seeds.

2. In a smaller bowl, whisk together olive oil, lemon juice vinegar, honey, tahini, and salt.

3. Pour dressing over salad and toss.  Alternatively, you can plate the salad and add the dressing afterward.  This will help the leftovers to stay crunchy in the fridge for a few days.

* This post is part of this week’s Whole Foods Wednesday, Fight Back Friday, Lunchbox Love, Wellness WeekendFresh Bites Friday, Real Food 101, and Monday Mania.

10 thoughts on “Asian Sesame Slaw (Vegan, Gluten-free)

  1. Mmmm…the slaw looks great!
    I’m the same way with resolutions—I have good intentions, but I have the same ones every year. It’s not that I “fail” but I just inch toward goals…
    This year, I do have one different resolution—I’m not going to weigh myself until 2013. It’s not that I have an issue with weighing myself too much, I just really want to learn how to think primarily about nourishment and quality of choices rather than about calories or weight. We’ll see how that goes—so far, so good!

    • I think that’s a great resolution! I think it’s true that when we focus too much on outside markers (like weight or calorie counts) that we lose touch with how our food and fitness choices are making us feel. I used to spend waaaay too much time and energy counting calories, analyzing everything I put into my mouth. I realized after a while that this was just not an effective way to stay healthy. I would either find myself extremely hungry but limit my food because I was “over” my calorie allowance for the day or I would end up with some “unused” calories at the end of the day and use this as an excuse to eat a big dessert…even if I wasn’t hungry. I’m never going back to that! Good luck with inching towards your goals this year, I look forward to following your progress on your blog!

  2. What a fab dressing you’ve chosen. I will try this version out. I have a jar of tahini that has been begging me to use it. Cabbage is the most wonderful thing in the winter. A faithful friend that never seems to rot or go bad even though it has been waiting in the fridge for weeks to get a little attention:)
    I think eating healthy is a work in progress. We get better at it every day. I would have never believed I’d be where I am today if someone had asked me 5 years ago. 5 years ago I was in camp eating microwave dinners! Yuck! Now there isn’t even a canned good in the house.
    Thanks for sharing this recipe over at Beyond The Peel. I hope to see you back next week!

  3. I have all the ingredients prepped for dinner tonight. I’m very excited to try this because I’m currently receiving boat loads of cabbage in my CSA baskets. I’ll let you know how it goes. But let me ask you a question first- do you have tomatoes included in the salad in the picture? Thanks!

  4. Okay, this is hands down the best way to eat cabbage! I love this coleslaw! The only thing different I did was make double the dressing- after I put the first batch on the slaw seemed to dry, but with the second batch it was dripping with deliciousness! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

