Moroccan Carrot Salad with Raisins

One of my favorite bits of kitchen wisdom is that good things can come from mistakes.  My new favorite summer salad began as a failed attempt to make an Indian carrot halwa.  For some reason, I decided that if I was already grating one carrot for the recipe, I might as well grate half a dozen more.  I ended up with about 8 cups of shredded carrots but decided that I hated my halwa (my fault…I did not even remotely follow the recipe!).  What to do with the rest?

This moroccan carrot salad was the perfect solution.  I ended up making a single serving of it every day for about a week.  The pre-shredded carrots stayed fresh in an airtight container and the salad came together in no time.  I highly recommend this for days when it feels too hot to cook.  It is best eaten on a patio in the shade!

Moroccan Carrot Salad with Raisins
makes 2 servings

Ingredients
–  2 cups shredded carrots
–  1 Tbsp olive oil
– juice from 1 lemon
– 1/2 tsp cumin
– 1/2 tsp paprika
– 1/4 tsp cinnamon
– 1/4 tsp garlic powder
– pinch of salt
– 2 Tbsp raisins

Mix everything together and serve.

* I shared this post with this week’s Fresh Bites Friday, Fight Back FridayPennywise Platter and Wellness Weekend.

9 thoughts on “Moroccan Carrot Salad with Raisins

  1. Pingback: Link Love | ournourishingjourney

Leave a comment