Spelt Banana Bread (No added sugar or oil)

My long and leisurely spring break is coming to a close and it would be a tragedy if I didn’t get some baking in before classes begin again.  This wholesome banana bread is sure to keep me happy during my long day in the classroom tomorrow.

Especially if it's slathered in coconut butter.

My spring break was decidedly laid-back.  No beach vacations for this girl.  I stayed in Portland for some quality reading and kitchen time.  Other highlights include: my sister coming to visit (all the way from Ft. Worth, TX), a day of walking around in the sun and shopping with some girlfriends, game night, and seeing an AMAZING show with the bands Onuinu and Yacht.  (My boyfriend produced and mixed Onuinu’s record and plays drums in the live show…so of course I like them.  As for Yacht, I have never seen a show like theirs.  They are from outer space.  In a good way.)

But back to the banana bread.  I like this recipe because all of its sweetness comes from the bananas.  It’s got no added sugar, no oil, and it’s whole grain.  And it’s vegan, if that matters to you.  I hope you enjoy!

Spelt Banana Bread
makes 1 loaf
adapted from GB&J

Ingredients:
– 1 1/2 cups whole spelt flour
– 1/2 cup almond flour
– 1/3 cup rolled oats
– 1 tsp cinnamon
– 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
– 1 tsp baking soda
– 1/2 tsp baking powder
– 1/4 cup coconut milk (or other type of your choice)
– 5 ripe bananas (the riper they are, the sweeter the bread will be)
– 1 tsp vanilla extract
– 1/2 tsp almond extract
– 1/4 cup almond butter
– 1/3 cup dark chocolate chips
– 1/2 cup walnuts

Preheat the oven to 350F.

In a large bowl, mix together flours, oats cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, and baking powder.

In a separate bowl, mash the bananas well and mix in the vanilla and almond extracts, and the almond butter.  Alternatively, you can give all those ingredients a whirl in the food processor or blender.  I used my Vitamix, which was incredibly easy.

Stir the wet ingredients into the dry just until combined.  Fold in the chocolate chips and walnuts.

Pour batter into a loaf pan and bake for 35-40 minutes.

* I added this post to this week’s Melt in Your Mouth Monday, Monday Mania, Real Food 101, and Make Your Own Monday.

4 thoughts on “Spelt Banana Bread (No added sugar or oil)

  1. Pingback: How To Deal With A Long To Do List With Zen

Leave a comment