Cream Scones for a Potluck

It’s been almost a week since I’ve been able to post here.  The semester is coming to a close and has thrown my lovely school-life equilibrium out of balance.  I’m not complaining though because after this Wednesday, I’m completely free for a whole month!  I have big plans for all the non-school-related books I’m going to read, dishes I’m going to make, and, sadly, apartment maintenance I’m going to do.  Having a huge amount of work to do (do you know how many drugs there are to learn about? do you?) is certainly not as crazy-making when there is a beautiful light at the end of the tunnel.

I decided to take a quick study break to tell you about the lovely scones I made for our end-of-clinicals potluck.  Each student on our unit was assigned to bring some kind of goodie to thank all the nurses who have guided us throughout the semester and put up with our general cluelessness.  Now, I look at potlucks as a great excuse to make something much more decadent than I would normally be able to handle at home.  It makes others happy and saves me from too much gluttony at home.  And since clinicals start at 0645 and breakfast items were in order, I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to try a cream scone recipe I ran across on Smitten Kitchen about a month ago.  She had altered the recipe from America’s Test Kitchen’s to use cranberries but I decided that I’d prefer currants.  Take your pick according to what moves you.  One thing I like about this recipe is that it doesn’t involve a lot of  sugar.  The sugar in the dough is minimal and I decided to top them with a little extra to give them a satisfying sweet and crunchy top.  I used regular granulated sugar but I have a hunch that sugar with bigger crystals (something like Sugar in the Raw) would be even better.  Nonetheless, they got rave reviews and were the first item at the potluck to be completely devoured.

Now, go forth and spoil your co-workers!

Cream Scones with Currants
makes 8 scones

Ingredients:
– 2 cups (10 ounces) unbleached all-purpose flour
– 1 tablespoon baking powder
– 3 tablespoons sugar
– 1/2 teaspoon salt
– 5 tablespoons chilled, unsalted butter, cut into 1/4-inch cubes
– 1/2 cup currants
– 1 cup heavy cream

1. Heat oven to 425F.

2. Place flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt in your food processor bowl and pulse several times until well mixed.  Add butter pulse about 12 times until the mixture resembles course meal.  Transfer into a bowl.

3. Add currants to the mixture in the bowl and fold in until they are uniformly mixed in.  Stir in the heavy cream and mix until a dough forms.  You may need to use your hands to knead in any loose, dry bits.

4. Press the dough into an 8-inch cake pan and then turn the dough onto a lightly floured work surface.  Alternatively, you could eyeball it and form an 8-inch disc of dough on the work surface.  Cut into 8 wedges and transfer to an ungreased baking sheet.  (Try running your knife under a little water before cutting the wedged to keep the dough from sticking to it.)

5. Sprinkle the wedges with extra sugar and bake until light brown, 12-15 minutes.

This recipe was my entry for the Weekend Gourmet Blog Carnival at Hartke is Online and Melt in Your Mouth Monday at Make Ahead Meals, and Full Plate Thursday at Miz Helen’s Country Cottage.

5 thoughts on “Cream Scones for a Potluck

  1. We just love scones and your recipe is just delicious. I would love to have a lovely basket of these scones to go with my tea. Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday. Hope you are having a great week end and come back soon!
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

