Triple Green Salad with Smoked Tuna

I have to tell you about the salad I made last night.  My original intention was just to throw together something healthy, not necessarily outstanding or blog-worthy.  As soon as I took my first bite, though, I knew that I would have to share this.

IMG_0141

I haven’t made a salad in a while.  When it’s cold and rainy outside, a plate of raw vegetables just doesn’t appeal to me.  I’m sure many of you can relate.  I think the secrets to this salad’s beauty are the sautéed mushrooms, which add some much-needed warmth, the lick-your-fingers good savory dressing, and the hearty smoked tuna, which I discovered a while back from a small company on the Oregon coast.

tuna

Good News Tuna Company

So good.

IMG_0139

I’m even looking forward to eating the EXACT same thing for dinner tonight.  I hope you enjoy it too!

Triple Green Salad with Smoked Tuna
serves 1

6-7 crimini mushrooms, washed with stems removed and sliced
1 cup dandelion greens, washed and roughly chopped
1/2 Tbsp butter
pinch of salt
a few handfuls baby spinach
1/2 cup flat leaf parsley, washed and dried
a few tablespoons of Duma Dressing (see recipe below)

Melt butter in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add mushrooms and cook until softened, about 5 minutes.  Reduce heat to medium, cover with a lid, and continue to sautee while you prepare the rest of the salad.  Check on it and stir it occasionally.

Place spinach and parsley in a large bowl.  Make dressing, pour a generous amount onto greens and toss to coat.  Place on a large dinner plate.

Add dandelion greens to mushrooms on stovetop.  Heat, covered, for about 2 minutes until beginning to wilt.  Place the mixture on top of the plated greens.

Flake about 4 oz tuna over everything.  Enjoy.

Duma Dressing
makes about 2 cups (you can keep in fresh in the refrigerator for up to 1 week)
adapted from Get It Ripe by Jae Steele

1/2 cup olive oil
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup tamari soy sauce
1/2 onion, chopped
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
small handful of pumpkin seeds

Place all ingredients in a food processor or high speed blender.  Blend on high for about 30 seconds until smooth.

I shared this post with this week’s Simple Lives Thursday, Pennywise Platter, Full Plate Thursday, and Keep It Real Thursday.

4 thoughts on “Triple Green Salad with Smoked Tuna

  1. This is a beautiful salad and would be delicious. Thank you so much for celebrating TWO YEARS with FULL PLATE THURSDAY, I appreciate your visit!
    Come Back Soon
    Miz Helen

  2. Hi, I really like your recipes and would love to know what a typical eating day is like for you (you can email me if you like/can). I have lots of digestion/constipation/binging issues. Oye. And only a casual walker . Oh boy .
    Also, can you can a “recipes’ page so I can find your recipes easier. And also give serving sizes. Thanks.

    • Hi Rach, thanks for the comment! I know how difficult it can be to find a healthy eating plan that works for your body and this is satisfying enough to stick to. I’m flattered that you want to know about my typical eating day but I’m afraid you’ll be disappointed by all the unhealthy, non-exciting things that I don’t post on the blog. 🙂 Today was pretty good: sprouted cereal for breakfast, a banana with coconut butter in the afternoon, and sushi with miso soup and seaweed salad for dinner. Oh and a chocolate hazelnut muffin for dessert, of course. I’m planning on staying up pretty late tonight and will probably end up having something else later.

      I think, for me, the most effective thing I’m able to do to stay healthy is to cook for myself often. That way, if I want a treat, I can have something I made with ingredients I approve of.

      Unfortunately, I often don’t put serving sizes on my recipes because I’m more of a casual home cook who likes to eyeball things. I try to give readers an idea of how many people a recipe will serve but this can be quite subjective depending on the diners and their appetites. As for a recipe page, I think that’s a great idea and it’s something I would love to do when I have a free afternoon or two. Thanks for the suggestion!

      It was great to hear from you and I hope you drop by again soon!

      P.S. I think walking is an excellent form of exercise. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

