Harissa Chickpeas with Spinach and a *Giveaway*!

Ah, resolutions.  They are so easy to make and so hard to keep.  There are the annual New Year’s Resolutions we all make and break.  There’s the inevitable swimsuit season countdown.  And there are the (in some cases daily) promises that this will be the LAST TIME I gorge on Oreo cookies for dessert after my greasy grilled cheese dinner.  Obviously I say none of this from experience.  Obviously.

Regardless of what your health/fitness goals are, it’s hard to make changes last.  Whether it’s cutting down on soda or quitting smoking, it’s always easier to make resolutions than to keep them.   And long-term habits are what ultimately create health or illness.  Which is why I’m sharing a GIVEAWAY today from the health and fitness app/website Slimkicker.  SlimKicker is a website/app that turns your health and diet challenges into a game by giving you the tools to track your progress, reward yourself, and even compete with friends.

To win the giveaway, all you need to do is leave a comment on this post with a fun and creative health, diet, or fitness challenge.  Slimkicker will pick will pick their favorite entry, add it as a challenge to their site, and give you an Ozeri Professional Kitchen Scale.  I’m seriously jealous of excited for whoever wins this.  (This giveaway is only open to residents of the U.S. and Canada.)

source

I will be accepting entries until July 31st and then we’ll be contacting the winner.

I was thinking about what kind of challenge I would create for myself and decided it would definitely be to cook dinner at home more often.  For someone who writes a cooking blog, I do a poor job of feeding myself and my loved ones at the end of a busy day.  Even the simplest dinners cooked at home would save me tons of money and would be much healthier than take-out or (ahem) bar food.  So in honor of today’s giveaway, I’m sharing these Harissa Chickpeas with Spinach.  Fast, healthy, and affordable.  I guess there’s nothing too challenging about that!

Harissa Chickpeas with Spinach
serves 2
from Not Without Salt

Note: You can find harissa paste in many well-stocked grocery stores or online.

Ingredients
– 1 Tbsp butter
– 2 garlic cloves, roughly chopped
– 1 1/2 cups cooked chickpeas (= 15oz can)
– 1 tsp harissa paste (add more for more spice)
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 1 Tbsp olive oil
– 1 Tbsp chopped fresh mint
– 2 cups fresh baby spinach
– generous scoop plain greek yogurt

1. Melt butter in a skillet over medium heat.  Add garlic and sauté about 2 minutes, until softened.  Add harissa paste and allow to cook 2 minutes more.

2. Add chickpeas and sauté until warm and softened, about 5 minutes.  Remove pan from heat and stir in mint, spinach, and olive oil.

3. Allow the residual heat to soften the spinach and divide into 2 bowls.  Top each bowl with a scoop of greek yogurt and serve with a slice of crusty bread, if you like.

* I shared this post with this week’s Fresh Bites Friday and Fight Back Friday.

7 thoughts on “Harissa Chickpeas with Spinach and a *Giveaway*!

  1. On Monday I started a new diet and exercise lifestyle change. My goal is to love 30 pounds by making healthier choices.

    I challenge you to not only drink your 8 glasses of water a day, but to drink 10!
    I challenge you to leave food on your plate instead of eating it all just because it’s there!
    I challenge you to get up off the couch during every tv commercial and do some sort of exercise!
    I challenge you to skip dessert and eat fruit instead!

  2. A great health challenge is to change your daily routine slightly to make it healthier. Here are some examples:
    1. Instead of sitting down for your entire lunch break, take a walk. Take 15 minutes to eat and then walk around for the rest.
    2. Stand on one foot while brushing your teeth.
    3. Do push-ups or jog in place during commercial breaks.
    4. Park in the furtherest parking space when going shopping or to work.
    5. Take the stairs instead of the elevator.
    6. Walk your dog instead of letting them out in the backyard.
    7. Cook dinner instead of getting take-out (you can make something simple).
    There are many other examples of everyday changes you can do, but the point is the little things add up!

  3. This was/is my challenge for the month of July: I could not purchase meat products for our meals (family of 4). The challenge was to use the meat we already have in the freezer, and be creative in order to make meals using that meat, or meatless meals. So far, I’ve had great success using up our freezer meat and saving money by not purchase more from the store. i’ve had to force myself to cook a whole chicken (instead of buying chicken breasts), and on days I didn’t prepare (thaw) any meat, then we’ve used a lot of eggs.

  4. My challenge idea is to slow down while you exercise. Lots of people just rush thru their workout without actually focusing and concentrating on the movements.

  5. Pingback: And the winner is… (plus a smoothie) | dishes and dishes

Leave a Reply

