Peanut, Cabbage, and Sesame Slaw

Usually when I’m making something that can be easily construed as “health food”, I make just one serving.  I’m usually pretty sure that my boyfriend, Jeremy, will not be interested and I’m usually right.  A funny thing happened, though, as this asian-inspired coleslaw sat on the table waiting to be photographed.  Jeremy walked over to it to see what it was.

“Can I have some?” he asked.

“No, I’m not finished taking pictures yet.”

He walked away.  A few minutes later, he’s back in the kitchen.  “Just a bite?”

“No, I’m still working with it… Now, are you messing with me, or do you really want me to make you one of your own?”

His face lit up.  “I want one!”  So I made another bowl of salad just for him and he spent the rest of the day telling me how good it was.  He even asked if I would make one for him every day.  I told him that I couldn’t make that kind of commitment.  But it felt good to be asked.  🙂

Peanut, Cabbage, and Sesame Slaw
makes 4 servings
adapted from The Kitchn

For the dressing:
– 3 Tbsp peanut butter
– 2 Tbsp rice vinegar
– 1 Tbsp soy sauce
– 1 Tbsp sesame oil
– 1 Tbsp olive oil
– 1 Tbsp lemon juice

Mix all ingredients with a fork or a whisk until smooth.

For the salad:
– 1 head green cabbage, shredded or thinly sliced
– 3 large carrots, grated
– 4 green onions, thinly sliced
– 1 Tbsp toasted sesame seeds
– a small handful of roasted peanuts

Mix the cabbage, carrots, and green onions together in a large bowl.  Toss with peanut butter dressing until well-mixed.  Top each individual serving with sesame seeds and peanuts.

Leave a Reply

