Roasted Vegetables with Red Curry and Coconut Sauce

For some reason, I have recently been reminded of my age at every turn.  In epidemiology class, we were presented with statistics about birth problems related to women over 30 (I’m 27, unmarried, and just don’t see a pregnancy on the horizon…even though every little child I see sends me into “wannabe mommy” mode).  When filling out paperwork, I have to think for several seconds before remembering just what my age is.  And at my annual exam, my healthcare provider told me that I was really getting to the age where I need to be doing my monthly breast exams.  I’ve never been told that before!  I’m investing in more high-quality skincare potions and thinking about when I’ll be ready to take the leap and buy my own house (hint: not anytime soon).  The truth is, that I just thought that I’d have more things figured out by now.

On the bright side, I’m learning to love certain foods that my childhood self would have cringed at.  I now consider olives to be a treat and, just in the last few months, I’ve begun to reconsider the eggplant.  Once a completely unwelcome guest at my table, eggplants are showing up in more and more of my dishes.  It started with my ratatouille and continues with these thai-inspired vegetables.  Of course, the dish is completely malleable to your personal tastes.  If you don’t like eggplant, choose another vegetable you do like or need to clear out of the fridge!  If you’re on the fence about eggplant, give it a try…you may be able to coax out your inner eggplant love!

What foods have you learned to love since childhood?  

Roasted Vegetables with Red Curry and Coconut Sauce
makes 2 servings
adapted from Love and Lemons 

Sauce Ingredients
– 1 Tbsp red curry paste
– 1 Tbsp white miso paste
– 1 Tbsp honey
– 1/4 cup olive oil
– 1/4 cup coconut milk (the kind from the can)
– salt and pepper to taste

Vegetables
– 1/2 onion, thinly sliced
– 1 small eggplant, quartered and cut into 1/2-in pieces
– 1 bell pepper, sliced
– a few handfuls spinach, washed and dried

– cooked rice or quinoa to serve

Preheat oven to 400F.

Prepare the sauce.  Mix all sauce ingredients together except for coconut milk, set aside.  You will use some to cook the vegetable in and some will be reserved to complete the sauce.

In a large bowl, toss prepared onion, eggplant, and bell pepper with about 1/2 of the sauce.  Mix until vegetables are coated.  Spread vegetables on a baking sheet and bake for 10-20 minutes, stirring about halfway through, until they are soft and beginning to brown.  Remove from oven and pour into a large bowl.

Place the spinach in the same pan the vegetables were just removed from.  Put in the oven for 2-4 minutes, until wilted.  Add to the bowl with the other vegetables.

Complete the sauce by whisking the coconut milk into the reserved half of the miso-curry mixture.  Pour over the vegetables and stir well.  Serve hot over rice or quinoa.

* I submitted this post to this week’s Fresh Bites Friday, Fight Back Friday, Foodie Friday, and Wellness Weekend.

7 thoughts on “Roasted Vegetables with Red Curry and Coconut Sauce

  1. This looks yummy! There are so many things I hated as a kid that I love now…mushrooms being number one on that list!
    I can relate to the other feelings too, except I’ll be 34 this summer. I suppose it could be seen as not being “on track” with the expectations I had about my life when I was younger, but I’d prefer to see it as going with the flow—not forcing things just because it’s expected. I have friends who did that….and many of them are unhappy, getting divorced, etc. There are many roads to the same place (happiness)…and I think it’s awesome that in this day and age we can do things in ways that work for us, rather than just conforming! So cheers to us!

  2. This looks fantastic. Found you through Foodie Fridays and Im going to have to pin this for use soon. I keep dragging my feet on going and buying curry paste (I usually just use my own powder mix) but this might be just the thing that sends me over the top and to the specialty store. 🙂 thanks !

    • You know, this was actually my first time buying curry paste as well. It had a different flavor than the powder I usually use and I though it was great in this sauce. Who knows? Maybe you’ll find tons of uses for it!

  3. Pingback: Wellness Weekend, June 21-25, 2012 | Diet, Dessert and Dogs

  4. Pingback: Candida diet, whole foods, sugar-free, vegan Wellness Weekend Event | Ricki Heller

Leave a Reply

