Pasta Salad with Fried Zucchini and Edamame

The day has finally arrived.

I’m finished with the “white carb detox”!  For those of you who didn’t see my beginning post, I basically decided to eliminate sugar (except for fruit) and white flour from my diet for 3 whole weeks.  I can’t say that it was always easy and I won’t lie and tell you that I didn’t have any slip-ups (there was one illicit piece of pillowy focaccia bread and some nasty frozen pizza at a crazy party).  Nonetheless, I am 100% glad that I did my very best for 3 weeks.  By the end, I was eating a ton of vegetables and healthy protein and fat, I was feeling satisfied and energetic, and the dreaded belly bloat was almost nonexistent.  Too bad I wasn’t able to go to my 5-year college reunion…I was looking good!

Since my 3 weeks ended on Monday, I have to admit that I’ve been much less virtuous.  Nothing over the top, but there has been some kind of white bread or pasta every day.  These foods are just so darn convenient and simple!  And so, of course, I have a pasta salad for you today!  Of course you could use whole-grain or gluten-free pasta, but for me, sometimes, being bad just feels too good.  🙂

Pasta Salad with Fried Zucchini and Edamame
serves 4
adapted from Plenty by Yotam Ottolenghi

Ingredients
– 1/2 cup sunflower oil
– 3 zucchini, cut into 1/4 inch slices
– 1 Tbsp red wine vinegar
– 1 10 oz bag frozen edamame
– 2 cups basil, cut into ribbons and divided
– 1/4 cup parsley leaves
– 1/4 cup olive oil
– 2 cups uncooked bow-tie (farfalle) pasta
– zest of 1 lemon
– 1 Tbsp small capers
– 6-8 oz fresh mozzarella, torn into bite-sized pieces

Fry the zucchini: Heat oil in a large sauté pan over medium-high heat.  Gently add slices of zucchini in batches and fry for about 2 minutes on each side, until golden.  Place on paper towels to drain.

Cook the edamame: Bring a pot of water to a boil and add edamame.  Cook for 5-7 minutes, drain, and place in a large bowl.

Cook the pasta: Refill your pot with salted water and bring to a boil.  Add pasta and cook according to package directions until al dente.  Drain, rinse with cool water, and place in the bowl with the edamame.

Make the dressing: Combine 1 cup of basil, all the parsley and olive oil in a food processor.  Puree, scraping down the sides as needed.  The dressing may not be completely smooth and uniform…that is ok.

Put it all together.  Add the zucchini, red wine vinegar, and basil dressing, lemon zest, and capers to the pasta and edamame.  Stir well.  Season to taste with salt.  Add the mozzarella and remaining basil before serving.

* I shared this post with this week’s Full Plate Thursday.

5 thoughts on “Pasta Salad with Fried Zucchini and Edamame

  1. Congratulations!
    Your recipe is featured on Full Plate Thursday this week. Hope you have a great week end and enjoy your new Red Plate!
    Come Back Soon,
    Miz Helen

  2. Pingback: Edamame Arugula Salad | recipe 2 recipe

Leave a Reply

