Kale Salad with Slow-Roasted Tomatoes

You guys, this could be one of the most beautiful plates of food I have ever made.  Dark green kale littered with juicy roasted tomatoes, crunchy radishes, and salty-sour capers.

With such a picturesque plate, I had no choice to but to enjoy my meal out on the patio.  Some things just aren’t meant to be eaten on your living room couch with your laptop open in front of you.

The recipe is adapted from a gorgeous cookbook I recently picked up from the library, Yotam Ottolenghi’s Plenty.  Flipping through each beautiful page makes me want to run to the grocery store for any fresh produce I can get my hands on.  My only complaint is that some of the recipes have ingredients that I consider to be quite obscure (verjus, anyone?). This is the exception rather than the rule, though, and I think this would be a great book to check out if you’re looking for some new and creative ways to eat those vegetables.

source

To me, the real star of the show here are the slow-roasted tomatoes.  The balsamic vinegar makes them wonderfully sweet, a nice balance to the astringency of radicchio.  Yes, they take one-and-a-half hours to roast.  And they are entirely worth the wait.  Trust me.

Things have been a little slow around here lately.  Jeremy is about halfway done with his 3-week tour and the novelty of having the apartment alllllll to myself has worn off.  I’ve been doing a good job of increasing my socializing accordingly, but I’ve become painfully aware of just how many hours there are in a day.  I mean that even after my work is done and my social obligations fulfilled, I find myself with a few too many empty hours at the end of the day.  It doesn’t help that I don’t like watching TV or movies by myself.

What’s your favorite way to use “alone time”?

Kale Salad with Slow-Roasted Tomatoes
adapted from Plenty

For the dressing:
makes enough for 3 large salads
– 1 garlic clove, minced
– juice from half a lemon
– 1 Tbsp olive oil
– 1 Tbsp grapeseed oil
– generous pinch of salt

Mix ingredients in a small bowl.  Each entree-sized salad should get about a tablespoon of the dressing.  It will keep in the refrigerator for a few days.

For the salad:
Ingredients here are enough for 1 large salad.  Adjust amounts accordingly depending on how many you plan to serve and whether the salad is an entree or side dish.
– 2 medium or large leaves of curly green kale
– 1 Tbsp dressing
– 1/2 cup radicchio, thinly sliced
– 5 radishes, sliced
– 5-6 slow roasted tomatoes (recipe below)
– 1 tsp capers

Remove stems from kale leaves and roughly chop into bite-sized pieces.  In a large bowl, combine kale leaves and dressing.  With your hands, massage the kale for about a minute, until the leaves are a vibrant dark green and soft.

Add radicchio, radishes, and tomatoes.  Toss together.  Top with capers and serve.

Slow-Roasted Tomatoes

Ingredients
– 1 pint grape tomatoes
– 3-4 sprigs of fresh thyme
– 1 Tbsp olive oil
– 2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
– salt

Preheat the oven to 275F.  Cut tomatoes in half and place in a baking dish.  Top with thyme sprigs and drizzle olive oil and balsamic vinegar over the whole thing.  Sprinkle with salt and roast for 1.5 hours.  Remove thyme sprigs and allow to cool.

* I shared this post on Summer Salad SundayMy Meatless Mondays, Just Another Meatless Monday, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, and Monday Mania.

9 thoughts on “Kale Salad with Slow-Roasted Tomatoes

  1. Pingback: Creamy Mushroom Soup (Vegan, Gluten-Free) | dishes and dishes

  2. Reblogged this on estaki12wbt and commented:
    what a yummy looking salad. Next time I get a chance to go to the farmers market I am soooo buying a bunch of Kale. Have been eyeing those bunches with some trepidation because I’ve only ever had baby kale in mixed salad leaves. I will try this soon!

  3. Pingback: Caramelized Pumpkinseed Pear and Pomegranate – Big Salad « jittery cook

  4. Pingback: Weekend Recipe: Roasted Tomato Garlic Linguini | well beauty blog

  5. Pingback: Grilled Kale, Sliced Plums and a Balsamic Vinaigrette over Ricotta | Seattle Foodshed

Leave a Reply

