Lisa’s Grilled Cheese

I’m a week and a half into my 3 week “detox” with no sugar or refined flour.  I’d like to be able to tell you that it’s been easy.  I’d like to be able to tell you that I’m suddenly craving only broccoli and carrots.  But I’d be lying.  The truth is that I can’t wait to bake some cookies and eat them.  Luckily, there’s another blogger out there who has made the same dietary changes I’m now attempting (only she did it permanently!) and she shares her wonderful wisdom and recipes with the rest of us at Thrive Style.  If you haven’t found Lisa’s blog yet, I suggest you check it out.  You’ll find tons of great recipes, nutrition advice, and bits of life.

Recently, she’s been perfecting her grilled cheese, which is made with coconut flour flatbread!  It’s incredibly easy and adaptable, and it’s perfect for satisfying the monster cravings I’ve been dealing with this week.  I’m going to send you her way for the recipe, which I pretty much followed exactly.  The only change I made was omitting the pizza seasoning because I didn’t have any.  For fun, I also added just a bit of fresh basil and arugula.  Thanks, Lisa, for this recipe revelation!

Coconut flour flatbread grilled cheese.

Made with grass-fed sharp cheddar cheese!

On an unrelated note, Jeremy left this morning for a 3 week tour with a band he plays in.  My apartment is already starting to feel empty.  Luckily, I still have this guy to keep me company!

2 thoughts on “Lisa’s Grilled Cheese

  1. That grilled cheese looks so interesting! Congrats on making it to 3 weeks with no sugar, good for you! I really want to do that, but it is so hard! I give you props. and your dog is simply adorable, I just want to hug him!

  2. I’m SO thrilled that you liked the flatbread!! I think it’s what keeps me sane 🙂
    I’ll admit, even after doing this way of eating for 9 months, I still am not craving broccoli! I have, however, lost the carb-y sugary cravings.

    I’m glad you’re having a good experience!!

Leave a Reply

