Shrimp, Avocado, and Lime Salad

Monday was perhaps the hottest day we’ve had so far this year.  While I spend the majority of the winter yearning for summer to come again, I forget what it feels like to be wilting on the couch in one’s little box of the apartment (no A/C, of course), wondering just how anyone could be expected to get any work done in this heat.  That was Monday, a preview of what’s to come.

The last thing I wanted to do was fire up the stove or turn on the oven.  Luckily, I had some pre-cooked Oregon Bay Shrimp I had bought on sale from the grocery store.  According to Seafood Watch, wild-caught Oregon shrimp are the best choice for sustainability.  And since this salad required absolutely no additional heat in my apartment, I’d say it was the perfect meal for the day.  I served it on cucumber slices but it would also be lovely on tortilla chips or a green salad.

I’m so sorry for the grainy photo! I left my camera in Fort Worth and am waiting for my mom to mail it to me. Thanks, Mom!

Shrimp, Avocado, and Lime Salad
makes about 3 cups

Ingredients
– 3/4 lb pre-cooked Oregon Bay Shrimp, picked through for stray shells
– 2 small avocados, diced
– 1/2 cup grape tomatoes, halved
– juice of 2 limes
– scant teaspoon salt (add more to taste, if needed)
–  1 tsp garlic powder
– 1/2 tsp cumin

Place all ingredients in a large mixing bowl and combine well.  Serve immediately or chilled with cucumber slices or other crudités.

5 thoughts on “Shrimp, Avocado, and Lime Salad

  1. This looks amazing! Right up my alley—I make something similar with crab and it’s my fave! In fact, I was planning to make it today…the mix of seafood and avo is so good!

Leave a Reply

