New Breakfast Food: Quinoa Flakes!

Not that I need any new breakfast foods.  All my favorite meals tend to be breakfast-centric: eggs served all kinds of ways, smoothies, oatmeal…I could probably live on those foods and be perfectly happy.  Which is why I was intrigued when I noticed a few fellow bloggers mentioning quinoa flake breakfast bowls.  In the past, I’ve tried making a breakfast-y version of quinoa with all my usual oatmeal toppings but found the result to be less than stellar.  I wasn’t sure that the flakes would be any different but when I noticed them in the bulk section of my food co-op, I decided to give it a try.

And the verdict is…great!  The quinoa flavor was not overpowering at all and texture was super smooth and creamy.  Add all your favorite toppings; you won’t be disappointed.

There was another first involved in making this recipe: stevia.  Maybe you’ve already tried this natural non-caloric sweetener and you either loved it or hated it.  I was leaning more towards hating it (my mouth knows what’s real sugar and what’s not) but I used a bit in this recipe to sweeten it up and actually enjoyed it.  I think the trick is to use a very small amount (I was just looking for a little bit of extra sweetness).  There was also “real” sugar in my bowl from all the strawberries, which may have also helped.

So what do you think about stevia?  Is it a friend or foe?

Quinoa Flake Breakfast Bowl
serves 1

Ingredients
– 1/3 cup quinoa flakes
– 1 Tbsp chia seeds
– 1 Tbsp flax seeds
– 2 Tbsp shredded coconut
– 1 cup chopped strawberries
– 1 cup coconut or almond milk
– 1/2 tsp vanilla
– 1/4 tsp cinnamon
– stevia, to tase

Put all ingredients in a saucepan over medium heat.  Simmer about 5 minutes, stirring regularly.  You may need to add extra milk as the chia seeds absorb liquid.

11 thoughts on “New Breakfast Food: Quinoa Flakes!

  1. I’ve never even heard of quinoa flakes, is it rolled quinoa (like rolled oats)? And I haven’t tried stevia–I tend to sweeten my breakfast with maple syrup, honey, or sugar.

  2. So glad we share a love for quinoa!

    I love cooking whole quinoa with chopped dates and a sprinkle of cinnamon, then topping it with a dollop of yogurt and honey. BADABiNG. That’s called starting your day off right.

  3. Yum, this looks delicious and filling. I’ve read a lot about quinoa flakes too, but I haven’t really been able to find them yet here. I’m also a breakfast lover, especially of hot and cold cereals so I feel this would be right up my alley. I’ve experienced the same feelings about stevia. I don’t mind it in my coffee, but I haven’t had as much success in oatmeal, baked goods, etc. I’m going to give it another try in moderation though. Have you ever tried agave? That’s typically what I use for sweetening oatmeal and what not. Thanks for the tasty recipe 🙂

    • Yes, I do like agave as well. I wonder if it would work to try using stevia along with the agave so you don’t have to use as much sugar but also don’t have to have just the stevia taste. Just a thought that I might try soon…

  4. Pingback: whenieat

Leave a Reply

