Roasted Garlic Lentil Hummus

This was the perfect snack to get me through the week.  Drizzled with olive oil and served with carrot sticks (or other favorite veggies!), it’s a healthy treat packed with fiber, protein, and healthy fats.  This was my first time making hummus from lentils and it ended up being much creamier than the recipes for chickpea hummus that I have tried.  This method is excellent for the home cook who does not have an industrial-grade blender or food-processor to deal with the somewhat tough skins on chickpeas.

Perfectly creamy.

Mmmm garlic.

I soaked the lentils overnight to help increase their digestibility.  This is not completely necessary, but good to do if you have the time.  I also ended up getting the perfect hummus texture without adding any oil.  To add some healthy fats to my snack, I drizzled each serving of hummus with a healthy dose of olive oil.  This really took the taste over the top, too.  Give it a try!

Roasted Garlic Lentil Hummus
adapted from The Tasty Alternative

Ingredients
– 1 cup red lentils, soaked overnight
– 1/4 cup tahini
– juice from half a lemon
– 1 head of roasted garlic (instructions here)
– 1/2 tsp salt
– olive oil, if needed for texture and/or for drizzling

Drain and rinse red lentils.  Put in a large saucepan and cover with water.  Bring to a boil and reduce heat to medium.  Cook for about 20 minutes, until very tender.

In a blender or food processor, add lentils, tahini, lemon, garlic, and salt.  Blend for several minutes, scraping down sides as necessary.  If the texture is too thick, add a tablespoon or so of olive oil and try again.

Serve drizzled with olive oil and with your favorite vegetable crudités.

* I added this post to this week’s Melt in Your Mouth Monday, Weekend Gourmet, Fat Tuesday, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Hearth and Soul Hop, and Monday Mania.

10 thoughts on “Roasted Garlic Lentil Hummus

  1. I have never thought to make hummus from lentils! I’m not surprised it’s creamy, though, since red lentils break down so completely. Thanks for the great idea!

  2. Hello There,

    How wonderful to see my recipe enjoyed by others. It truly warms my heart! Thank you for sharing your version. And looks like I found another garlic lover! I just can’t get enough. 🙂

    Be Well,
    –Amber

  3. We are huge hummus fans (my kids eat it from a bowl with a spoon. I’m not sure if that makes them fans or just weird, but we eat a lot of hummus) and it has never occurred to me to make hummus with lentils. I can’t wait to try this recipe!

  4. Pingback: Homemade Hummus « Rhianna's Guide to Ethical Eating

  5. Pingback: Recipe: Chipotle Guacamole Hummus | Haven't We Done This Before?

  6. Pingback: Hummus « From the Hobbit Hole Kitchen

  7. Pingback: Roasted California Chilies and Garlic Chowder with Rosemary Sourdough Croutons « My Spanish Translator

  8. Pingback: Red Lentil Hummus « strawberry ginger

Leave a Reply

