Many-Mushroom Soup

Hello!  Just a quick weekend post to tell you about some mighty tasty soup I made last week.  I’m afraid it’s not much to look at, but it was quick enough for a school night and made delicious leftovers for lunch the next day.  And yes, the recipe really does only make about 2 servings.  I know how strange it is to make such a small batch of soup.  I usually subscribe to the belief that the amount of soup in the stock pot should be enough to feed a small army with leftovers to stick in the freezer.  But mushrooms are expensive, people!  And I decided that I’d rather get a smaller yield of mushroom-heavy soup than a big pot with only a few fungi floating around.  I can tell you that was the right decision.

Many-Mushroom Soup
makes 2 servings

Ingredients
– 1 Tbsp olive oil
– 1 small onion, diced
– 7 oz assorted mushrooms, with the large ones sliced into bite-sized pieces (Try to get at least 3 different types. I bought a package with several kinds already mixed together)
– 2 cloves garlic, minced
– 1/4 tsp salt, plus more to taste
– 2 cups vegetable broth
– 1/4 tsp ground thyme
– 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

Heat olive oil in a medium pot over medium-high heat.  Add onions and cook until soft, about 7 minutes.

Add mushrooms, garlic, and salt and cook for another 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Add vegetable broth, thyme, and nutmeg.  Cook for another 10 minutes or so.  Serve immediately or enjoy the next day when the flavors have melded more.

I added this post to this week’s Sunday Night Soup Night and Superfood Sunday.

6 thoughts on “Many-Mushroom Soup

  1. haha i love the name of that soup. not sure if this is going against your principle of quality over quantity, but sometimes I add some potatoes to the soup to add extra body to the soup and thicken it without having to use that many mushrooms!

  2. That sounds and looks amazing! I love all things mushroom—my fave restaurant uses a variety of mushrooms I can’t get in the grocery store, and I think the variety makes a big difference!

  3. I love all of the different shapes and textures of mushrooms, and your soup sounds really tasty! Thanks for sharing this with Sunday Night Soup Night, look forward to seeing you again soon!

Leave a Reply

