Warm Shaved Brussels Sprouts with Honey-Lemon Dressing and Walnuts

Until this year, I had never heard of such a thing as shaved brussels sprouts.  As far as I knew, they were good for roasting in the oven.  Period.  Now, suddenly, it seems like every foodie restaurant I walk into has a variation of the dish on the menu.  I don’t know if this is a new trend or if I’m just becoming more observant.  Either way, you won’t hear any complaints from me!  Served this way, they add a more delicate flair to your dinner and they just require a quick visit to the frying pan.

I tried shaving them in a few different ways.  A mandoline give you a bit more control over the angle and width of slicing, resulting in a more uniform product.  But I’m never using a mandoline again because it usually ends in tragedy (this time, I lost a substantial chunk of my thumb…is this just me?  Aren’t those things supposed to be safer???).  The slicing disk of my food processor went quite a bit faster and kept my fingers safely away from sharp objects.  The downside was that the result was slightly less visually appealing.  Personally, I’m fine with that.  Or you could always use a good old fashioned knife.  But no matter how you cut it, this is a wonderful addition to a winter (yes, still very much winter here) meal.

Warm Shaved Brussels Sprouts with Honey-Lemon Dressing and Walnuts
serves 2

Ingredients
– 1 cup brussels sprouts (about 8), washed and stems trimmed
– 1 Tbs olive oil
– juice from half a lemon
– 2 tsp honey
– a handful of walnuts, toasted and chopped

1. Using a food processor fitted with a slicing disk, mandoline, or sharp knife, thinly slice brussels sprouts.  Separate leaves with fingers.

2.  Heat olive oil in a large frying pan over medium heat.  Add lemon and honey, stirring to combine.

3.  Quickly add brussels sprouts and cook just until the start to soften and sizzle, about 5 minutes.  Place in serving bowls and garnish with walnuts.

* I added this post to this week’s Slightly Indulgent Tuesday and Traditional Tuesday.

4 thoughts on “Warm Shaved Brussels Sprouts with Honey-Lemon Dressing and Walnuts

  1. Lol you are not the only one! My stomach flips and my thumb throbs at the mere mention of a mandoline. This looks tasty.

  2. This sounds amazing!
    I make a salad that is shaved brussels and shredded kale…with toasted almonds and a lemon vinaigrette…honestly, yours sounds a little better! But I do love brussels that way in general….

Leave a Reply

