Raw Apple Chips

During the week, I usually feel like the length of my “to do” list and the amount of time I have available just don’t match up.  This week is no exception.  There’s a pile of reading and homework that somehow just didn’t quite get done over the long weekend, a bit of a mess happening in my apartment, and some added stress related to spending my first week on a pediatrics rotation at the hospital.  On the bright side, I’ve learned that I like working with kids! (I haven’t spent much time around the youngun’s and so I really had no idea of what to expect.)  It’s their parents that can be hard to handle.

Just kidding.

Not really.

What does this have to do with raw apple chips?  Well, I think they are a perfect snack food, whether I’m trying to give myself a reward for doing ALL of my reading for class or trying to calm my rumbling stomach during a busy day of patient care.  They’re also a great way to be able to buy lots of apples when they’re on sale and preserve them for later.  I was lucky enough to have gotten a dehydrator from Jeremy for Christmas and these are the treat I’ve used it for most often.  If I top them with cinnamon, they make the whole apartment smell warm and festive as they’re drying.

There isn’t so much a recipe as a method.  Cut your apples in half, remove the core and seeds, and cut into thin slices (probably about 1/8 inch thick).  Place slices close together on your dehydrator sheet and sprinkle with cinnamon, if desired.  If you want them to be technically raw, you’ll have to keep the dehydration temperature at under 115 degrees F and you’ll let them go overnight.  You can speed up the process by starting at a higher temperature (145 degrees F or so) for an hour and then reducing to the “raw” temperature.    Store in an airtight container.

* I added this post to this week’s Fresh Bites Friday, Wellness Weekend, and Fight Back Friday.

5 thoughts on “Raw Apple Chips

  1. Yum! These sound great and I bet they smell amazing!

    I haven’t dried much fruit in my dehydrator, but I do make a lot of kale chips….

    I know what you mean about time and the to do list–and I often prioritize things, putting off the non-essential stuff till the weekend….then things happen, the week starts, and all of a sudden those things are very essential!

    • Kale chips are definitely second place on my “most dehydrated items” list! Another great on-the-go snack, but I always feel like I need to brush all those little green bits out of my teeth after. 🙂

  2. Now I’m kicking myself for giving up my dehydrator! But I could try these in the oven, I think, at a low temperature. Thanks for linking up to WW this week! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Anti-candida, whole foods, sugar-free, vegan Wellness Weekend Event | Ricki Heller

Leave a Reply

