Goodness Green-ness Soup (Vegan)

I’m not sure I would have tried this soup if I hadn’t heard its author raving about it on The Splendid Table last week.  I found the recipe online and became convinced that I should make it after I saw the healthy and inexpensive list of ingredients.  I’m so glad I did!  The taste of caramelized onion and lemon really stands out and the little bit of rice gives it a smooth, creamy texture.  I stored half the batch in the freezer and am looking forward to pulling it out as I enter another hectic week of school!

Goodness Green-ness Soup
makes 8 servings
adapted from Anna Thomas’ recipe

Ingredients
– 2 Tbsp olive oil
– 2 large onions, chopped
– 1 tsp salt, divided
– 2 Tbs, plus 3 cups water, divided
– 1/4 cup arborio rice
– 1 bunch chard, de-stemmed and roughly chopped
– 1/2 lb spinach
– 4 cups vegetable broth (I used homemade leek broth)
– 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
– juice of 1 lemon

1. Heat olive oil over medium-high heat in a large stockpot.  Add onions and 1/4 tsp salt and cook until onions are beginning to brown, about 5 minutes, stirring often.  Add 2 Tbsp water, reduce heat to medium-low, and cover pot.  Allow to cook until caramelized, about an hour, stirring occasionally.

2.  Meanwhile, in a separate pot, combine rice with remaining 3 cups water and 3/4 tsp salt.  Bring to a boil and then reduce heat, cover the pot, and allow to cook for about 15 minutes.  Stir in the chard greens and simmer for about 10 minutes.  Strain remaining water out of rice and chard.

3.  Add the rice and chard to the caramelized onions, along with broth, cayenne and spinach.  Simmer just until spinach has wilted enough to be covered by the broth.

4. Puree soup with an immersion blender or in batches in a regular blender.  Stir in lemon juice.  Serve immediately with a drizzle of olive oil, if desired.

* I added this post to Sunday Night Soup Night, Weekend Gourmet Blog Carnival and Real Food 101.

7 thoughts on “Goodness Green-ness Soup (Vegan)

  1. What a nice sound and I don’t think it places yo any where near the “weird food blog” category! I think the most ingenious part is adding arborio rice to change what would otherwise be a watery soup. What a great tip for all kinds of vegetable “creamed” soups.

    I’ll be hosting Whole Food Wednesdays again this week at beyondthepeel.net. I hope you’ll swing by and join us. Have a great rest of your week.

  2. What a great idea, I’m so glad you decided to try it and post about it! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe with Sunday Night Soup Night! I’ll be hosting weekly through fall and winter, so I’d love to see you again with your next soup/stock/chowder recipe.

  3. Pingback: Summer Soups | Easy Natural Food

Leave a Reply

