Green Dreamsicle Smoothie

After a month-long(!) break, I finally headed back to classes this morning.  Slowly, I’m remembering what it’s like to have to get up before 10am, that a “reading list” means more than just the novels and cookbooks I’m requesting from the library, and the general anxiety that comes with projects, tests, and grades.  Not that I’m complaining.  Over the last month, I’ve realized that I can actually be a very lazy person when there are no outside motivators to get me up and out in the world.  I don’t want to be a lazy person.  And from the looks of my course syllabi, that will not be a problem for me this semester.

This calls for a green smoothie.  It’s a green Dreamsicle smoothie that I hope you will love as much as I do.  I had it for breakfast this morning and went to class feeling satisfied and energized.  If you haven’t ever added greens to your smoothie, I highly recommend that you give it a try.  For novices, spinach is a good place to start.  It blends up nicely, leaving no “crunchy” bits and it doesn’t have much of a taste to it.  As you get bolder, you can experiment with the cruciferous greens like kale and collard greens.  These veggies have wonderful health benefits but are also more likely to add a distinctive “green” taste to your concoction.  I don’t usually mind it but can see that it could be off-putting for a newbie.

Green Power!

Same smoothie without the spinach.

Enjoy!

Green Dreamsicle Smoothie
serves 1

Ingredients
– 1 tangelo, peeled and seeded
– 1/2 banana
– a few handfuls spinach
– 1/3 cup plain greek yogurt
– about 1/4 cup hemp (or other) milk (hemp milk recipe here)
– 1/2 tsp vanilla

Blend all ingredients in a high-power blender.  Some blenders may not be up to the task of liquefying a whole tangelo, in which case you may want to experiment with OJ instead.  In that case, leave out the milk and consider adding more greek yogurt and/or banana to thicken.

* I added this post to this week’s Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Traditional Tuesday, Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways, Gluten-Free Wednesday, Whole Foods Wednesday, Real Food Wednesday, These Chicks Cooked, and Fat Tuesday.

15 thoughts on “Green Dreamsicle Smoothie

  1. Mmmmm….this sounds so great! I’m a big fan of green smoothies, but lately I have gotten out of the habit (maybe it was because I was kind of a slug over winter break…). I know the feeling of starting back to the grind, although I will be honest and say that as the teacher, it’s WAY easier than as the student. My brain just has to get back into “work mode” …it’s happening slowly 🙂

    • That should be just fine. Regular yogurt tends to be a bit thinner than greek yogurt but otherwise serves the same purpose: to add a bit of protein and creaminess. Happy blending!

  2. Thanks for linking your great post to FAT TUESDAY. This was very interesting! Hope to see you next week!

    Be sure to visit RealFoodForager.com on Sunday for Sunday Snippets – your post from Fat Tuesday may be featured there!
    http://realfoodforager.com/fat-tuesday-january-10-2012/

    Share your great fermented food recipes at my Probiotic Food Linky – open through Februray 6, 2012.
    http://realfoodforager.com/probiotic-food-challenge-linky/

  3. Hi Hannah. Thanks for sharing this with us. It was great to have you back again this week. I really need to get on this smoothie kick. I love the ideas of getting a bunch of extra greens in my diet with out even trying. Have a great weekend and I hope to see you next Wednesday.

  4. Thanks so much for sharing this! I found this post through the Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways bloghop. I was excited to try green smoothies for the first time this past week. I was pleasantly surprised that my entire family, including my kids, LOVED them! My kids have actually asked me to make them one every day this week! Will have to try this recipe-thanks for sharing! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Gluten-Free Menu Plan -Smoothies

  6. Pingback: My Green Smoothie Weight Loss Journey | Momcaster

Leave a Reply

