Slow Cooker Apricot-Currant Oatmeal

Question: What’s better than waking up to a warm, delicious breakfast that’s ready to eat?  I’m not sure there’s an answer to that, especially when said breakfast costs very little and is extremely nutritious.  That’s why I’m sharing these slow cooker oats today.  It’s a versatile recipe and I can think of dozens of delicious variations that you could try at home.  Have some extra apples lying around?  Dice them up and throw them in.  Do you like coconut?  I’ll bet some shredded coconut would be a great addition.  Prefer your oatmeal on the sweeter side?  Include some brown sugar, agave syrup, or honey.  I liked mine drizzled with a little whole milk or half-and-half.  Make sure if you’re making this that you use steel cut oats.  Rolled oats will turn into unappetizing mush if cooked this long but the steel cut oats hold their texture nicely.  Let me know if you come up with any great variations!

Blog business: I may not be able to post any new recipes next week.  I’m headed up to Minneapolis tomorrow to spend the holiday with friends and family.  I hope everyone has a wonderful holiday and I’ll check back in here as soon as I get home if not before!

Slow Cooker Apricot-Currant Oatmeal
serves 4-6

Ingredients
– 1 cup steel-cut oats
– 4 cups water
– 1/2 cup currants
– 6-8 apricots, chopped
– 1 tsp vanilla
– 1/2 tsp cinnamon
– optional toppings: honey, yogurt, cream, coconut flakes, butter, ground flax seeds…you get the idea

1. Combine all ingredients in your slow cooker before you go to bed the night before.

2. Set temperature to LOW and cook while you sleep!  It will be ready in 7-9 hours.  Stir before serving.  Leftovers can be refrigerated for a few days.

* I entered this post in this week’s Fat Tuesday at Real Food Forager, the Hearth and Soul Hop at Premeditated Leftovers, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday at Simply Sugar and Gluten Free, and Traditional Tuesdays at Cooking Traditional Foods.

8 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Apricot-Currant Oatmeal

  1. Enjoy your holiday with friends and family—that’s what it’s all about 🙂

    This does look yummy—I haven’t made slow cooker oats recently, but they can be so yummy!

    • Yes, I’ve been eating them for breakfast for the past several days…good to know this recipe makes tasty leftovers. I know you’ve been staying away from the grains and I just saw the “egg white trick” waffles on your blog. That might have to be my next breakfast adventure!

  2. Love your blog, thanks for stopping by Foodtrainers. This looks like a great ski recipe. Thanks for the rolled oat warning, I’ve tried concoctions in the slow cooker and mush what you get. Happy Holidays, can’t wait to read more.

  3. Pingback: Slow Cooker Apple-Pear Butter « A Dash of Domestic

Leave a Reply

