Open-faced Tempeh Reuben

Don’t tell anyone, but I’m playing hookie from school today.  This is a big deal for me as it’s something I rarely do.  When I do skip class, I usually sit around at home worrying that I’m going to miss an important announcement or that the teacher will somehow magically notice me missing from the sea of 60 or so faces before her.  To successfully skip class, I must first make up my mind that it really is a good idea several days in advance.  Then, I have to make countless justifications to myself about why it is ok to skip class this one time.  I haven’t missed one class yet…I’ll get the notes from a classmate…I have a lot of work to do and could really use an extra day…I could be sick for all anyone knows, right?  Right?

So, having done all of that prep work, I’m now having a relaxing morning on my couch and feeling quite good about it.  I’m also here to share a tempeh reuben recipe that made my life at lunch yesterday.  It’s ridiculously easy and it’s perfect for a lazy day of truancy.  My first attempt at this sandwich was not open-faced and I felt like it needed a better filling-to-bread ratio.  Then I remembered my Danish heritage and realized that sandwiches (smørrebrød) really should consist of just one slice of artfully-topped bread.  Bingo.  That’s exactly what it needed and I think I’ll be following this guideline more often.

Open-faced Tempeh Reuben
serves 1

Ingredients
– 1 slice rye bread
– 2 slices tempeh bacon
– 1 Tbs olive oil
– 1 Tbs thousand island dressing
– 1 slice swiss cheese
– 1/4 cup saurkraut

1. Set your oven to broil and toast one side of the rye bread.  Remove from oven and smear the untoasted side with thousand island dressing.

2. Heat olive oil in a pan over medium heat.  Add tempeh bacon and cook according to package directions.

3. Layer the bacon over the thousand island dressing and top with swiss cheese.  Put the sandwich under the broiler until cheese is melty.  Remove from oven.

4. Top with sauerkraut and drizzle with more thousand island, if desired.

4 thoughts on “Open-faced Tempeh Reuben

  1. You’ve inspired me to make tempeh tonight. 🙂

    P.S. Have a happy, happy Thanksgiving, Hannah! Hope it’s full of lovely fall food…

    • Thanks Katie! I hope you have a great Thanksgiving, too! We’re spending ours with our (vegan) neighbors…did I mention that I’ll probably be in your neck of the woods for Christmas?

  2. I was always that way about skipping classes too—I think it’s a good quality to have, and I also think it’s ok to skip sometimes!
    The reuben looks yummy 🙂

Leave a Reply

