Figgy Smoothie

Hello!  I hope everyone is enjoying their weekends.  I’m working on staying cozy in my apartment and getting caught up on some housekeeping and schoolwork.  I know that doesn’t sound like an exciting weekend, but sometimes that’s exactly what you need!  I had a productive morning with a quick workout, running errands and taking Dan to the park.

I’ve learned that if Portland gives you sunshine in the winter, you don’t waste the opportunity!

When I’m busy and need quick, healthy food, green smoothies always come to the rescue.  It’s my go-to breakfast and I probably have them 5-6 days a week.  Since I eat them so often, I sometimes get caught in a smoothie-rut where I’m using the same ingredients over and over.  Luckily, there are a lot of other green smoothie enthusiasts out there who like to post their recipes online and I can always find inspiration to switch things up.  Today’s smoothie is based on one from Laury at The Fitness Dish.  Of course, I’m almost incapable of following a recipe exactly so this is my slightly tweaked version.

Figgy Smoothie
serves 1

– 1 ripe banana
– 3-5 figs
– 2 kale leaves, stems removed
– 1 Tbs hemp protein
– 1 Tbs almond butter
– 1 tsp almond extract
– 1/2-1 cup almond milk
– ice cubes (optional, I don’t like my smoothies too cold in the winter)

Put everything in your blender and blend ’til smooth!

4 thoughts on “Figgy Smoothie

    • I used fresh figs and I’m not sure how it would work with dried. I would suggest, if you do want to try with dried figs, that you soak them in warm water first to soften and then blend like crazy!

Leave a Reply

