Kale Salad with Orange, Fennel, and Walnuts

It feels like winter has set in.  Gloves, hats, and scarves have found their way out of my closet and we’ve been using our fireplace almost every day.  My bike ride to school usually involves numbed fingertips (any suggestions for good gloves to bike in?  I’ve got some lined leather ones that I’m using but I’ve also got circulation issues!)  It’s time for soup and other comfort foods.  So why on earth did I make a big salad yesterday?

Well, I found a recipe that looked right for the season.  The heartiness of kale seems appropriate for cold weather, citrus fruits are coming into their best season, and fennel adds an unexpected flavor punch.  The citrusy-miso dressing rounds everything out.  I’ve learned that even in the winter, a good salad can really hit the spot.  I served it over a warm sweet potato to bulk things up and to make it a filling, satisfying lunch.

Kale Salad with Orange, Fennel, and Walnuts
(adapted from Gena’s at Choosing Raw)
serves 2

For the salad:
– about 4 cups of kale (about 5 generous leaves), de-stemmed, chopped and washed
– 1 small bulb of fennel
– 1 orange, peeled and sectioned
– 1/4 cup walnuts

For the dressing:
– juice from 1/2 an orange
– juice from 1/2 a lemon
– 1 Tbs miso
– 2 Tbs olive oil
– 1/2 tsp sesame oil
– 1 tsp soy sauce

1.  Mix dressing ingredients together in a small bowl.

2.  Add dressing to kale in a large bowl and use your hands to “massage” the kale until softened and coated with dressing.  Add remaining salad ingredients.

That’s it!  If you want to try it with sweet potato the way I did, pierce a small potato with a fork several times and microwave on high for 4 minutes, turning it over halfway through.

I hope everyone enjoyed the extra hour of sleep we got for daylight savings.  I know I needed it.  Now I’m going to bundle up and get myself outside for a run.  The sun is out and it’s not raining, which means it’s a beautiful day in Portland.  🙂

One thought on “Kale Salad with Orange, Fennel, and Walnuts

Leave a Reply

