Sweet Potato Nachos

Hello!  I have been completely sidelined from the blogosphere by a particularly brutal week of school.  I’ve still got one midterm exam and a couple of papers to go, but I had to take a quick break to write a post about the incredible lunch I just ate…sweet potato nachos.  They are basically like regular nachos but with sweet potatoes taking the place of tortilla chips.  They’re quick, versatile, and you can make them as light/healthy or decadent as you want.

I was leaning towards decadence today.  These did not let me down.

I topped mine with refried beans, lean ground beef (cooked with taco seasoning), verde salsa, cheese, avocado, and sour cream.  If you want it vegetarian, I might suggest sprinkling taco seasoning on the sweet potatoes or mixing it into your beans.  I think the extra oomph from the spices makes a big difference.  I think I’m going to try that tomorrow 🙂

To make the sweet potato chips, just slice your sweet potatoes into rounds and bake on a greased pan at 450F for 15 minutes.  Then flip them and let them bake for another 10-15 minutes.  If you buy organic sweet potatoes, you can leave the skin on.  Otherwise, you might want to peel.

I cannot wait to eat these again tomorrow.

Ok, I’m going to go hit the books for another few hours.  Tonight, J and I are getting treated to fancy dinner at Clyde Common by some folks he is working with so I have some motivation to work hard this afternoon!

 

One thought on “Sweet Potato Nachos

Leave a Reply

