Pumpkin Power Breakfasts

Breakfast is definitely my favorite meal.  There are so many ways to do it well without spending a lot of time in the kitchen and buying expensive ingredients.  Seriously, the same meal invented omelets, oatmeal, AND smoothies?!  Genius.  I’ve been known to eat breakfast-y items for every meal of the day.  And I’m ok with that.

In honor of fall, I decided to try a couple new pumpkin-infused breakfast bowls this week.  The first is a pumpkin pudding inspired by a recipe I saw at Spinach and Yoga.  It looked like just the thing to help me break out of my oatmeal rut.  The second was a magical amalgamation of my favorite Rice Porridge bowl and aforementioned pumpkin pudding.  Both are recipes I will be returning to for sustenance and comfort as my midterm exams draw near this and next week.

Pumpkin Pudding
serves 1
(Chia seeds won’t digest well unless they’re allowed to soak in liquid before consumption.  Plan to make this at least an hour before you plan to eat it; overnight is best.)
Ingredients

– 1 cup pureed pumpkin (I used canned)
– 1 cup almond milk
– 1 1/2 Tbs chia seeds
– 1 Tbs ground flax seeds
– 1 scoop of your favorite protein powder
– generous sprinkles of cinnamon, nutmeg, and ground cloves
– 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
– a handful of raisins
– a few walnuts (optional)
– agave or maple syrup (optional)

1.  Blend pumpkin, almond milk, chia and flax seeds, protein powder, spices and vanilla extract until ingredients are well incorporated.  Scoop into bowl, mix in raisins and refrigerate at least an hour or overnight.

2.  When you’re ready to eat, heat in the microwave for about a minute until warm.  Garnish with walnuts and agave, if desired.

 

Pumpkin Power Porridge
serves 1, generously

Ingredients
– 1/4 cup brown rice cereal (directions for making your own here)
– 1 cup water
– 1 banana, mashed well
– 1/4 c pumpkin puree (canned is fine)
– 1/2 scoop of your favorite protein powder (optional)
– a handful of raisins
– a few dashes each of cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves
– 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
– 1 Tbs ground flax seeds

1. Mix all ingredients except flax in a saucepan over medium-high heat.  Cook stirring frequently until rice is softened, about 10 minutes.

2. Top with flax.

 

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Power Breakfasts

  1. I’m a breakfast-lover too and I’ve also been incorporating pumpkin wherever I can! Both recipes sound great and I love the addition of protein powder!

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin Smoothie | ZestyVegan.Com

  3. Pingback: Pumpkin Smoothie | Zesty Vegan

Leave a Reply

