Creamy Cannellini Bean Sauce with Pasta and Vegetables

I can hardly remember the last time I made pasta.  It’s not that I have anything against Italian food (it’s one of my favorites!) but pasta, to me, seems like a treat better saved for a romantic night out than something cooked at home.  The problem is that I can’t bring myself to do the whole wheat noodle thing.  I want to be healthy but there’s something about the texture or taste of whole wheat pasta that just ruins it for me entirely.  Enter Ancient Harvest Quinoa Pasta…

It’s a bit of a misnomer since it seems to also have a healthy amount of corn but I’m not complaining.  It has more fiber and protein than regular semolina pasta and doesn’t turn all mushy the way rice pasta does.  Instead, it keeps a nice chewy texture when it’s cooked, which just the way I like it.  It was on sale at the grocery store this weekend and so I decided that now was the time to give it a try.


This recipe is adapted from Yvonne and Julie’s blog.  I changed it a bit to reflect what’s in season right now but otherwise stayed pretty true to their version.  I realized after I’d done my grocery shopping that mushrooms would have been the perfect addition!

Creamy Cannellini Bean Sauce with Pasta and Vegetables
serves 4

Ingredients
– 1 package Quinoa Harvest Pasta Pagodas (or your favorite pasta type)
– 10 cloves garlic, roughly chopped
– 2 Tbs + 1/4 cup olive oil
– 1 15 oz can cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
– 1 1/2 tsp fresh rosemary
– 1/4 cup unsweetened coconut milk
– juice from 1/2 of a lemon
– 1 1/2 tsp salt
– 1 large head broccoli, cut into bite-sized pieces
– 1 red pepper, cut into bite-sized pieces
– 1/4 cup hazelnuts

1. First, toast the hazelnuts in a saucepan over medium heat, shaking regularly to make sure the don’t burn.  Remove from heat, allow to cool, and roughly chop.

2. Cook the garlic in 2 Tbs olive oil over medium heat (don’t let the garlic get brown).  Remove from heat and set aside.

3. Cook pasta according to package instructions.  Steam vegetables until slightly tender.

4.  While the pasta and vegetables are cooking, make the sauce.  Place sautéed garlic, beans, remaining olive oil, rosemary, salt, and lemon in the blender.  Add coconut milk as needed to reach desired consistency.  Sauce should be thick but pourable.

5. When the pasta is done drain and return to pot.  And sauce and vegetables and mix it all together.  Scoop into bowl and garnish with hazelnuts to serve.  Drizzle with a little olive oil, if desired.

Well, I’m off to get some studying done.  I get a little panicky when I look at all the assignments I have due in the next couple of weeks but I just have to remember to take it one thing at a time.  Deep breath 🙂

2 thoughts on “Creamy Cannellini Bean Sauce with Pasta and Vegetables

  1. Coconut milk + hazelnuts = I’m making this tomorrow, after a little grocery shopping…yum.

    Good luck with the studying!

Leave a Reply

