An Equal Music

One of my goals this school quarter, aside from acing my classes, cooking often, getting exercise, and strengthening my relationships (whew!), is to do a little bit of reading for pleasure.  Even if it is only a little.  Last quarter, all my non-school-related books remained untouched on my shelves and I really missed them.  Also, my “to read” list on Goodreads continues to grow and I want to feel like I’m making a dent in it.  Today, I took a break from my regularly-scheduled studying to finish up “An Equal Music” by Vikram Seth (I only had 6 pages left but, still, it felt like an accomplishment!).

I’m not really into giving plot recaps here, but I’ll happily give a short, uneducated opinion.  I started out really enjoying this book.  The language is lush and lends itself nicely to the subject of lost love.  It is slow-moving, but offers enough interest to keep the reader from from getting bored.  By the end of this book, I was disenchanted with the main character and wanted to give him a few brisk slaps across the face.  I know that having a falling-out with a character probably shouldn’t make me automatically have a falling-out with the book itself, but that’s what happened.  Overall, I’d give it 3 out of 5 stars and would still consider reading the author’s more well-known novel, “A Suitable Boy”.

Yup, so I wasn’t an English major and I feel weird writing a review (however informal) of a book, but I’m always interested in what others are reading and thought I might as well throw this out into the blogosphere.

What are you reading right now?

Leave a Reply

