Egg Salad

I recently got my hands on a copy of River Cottage Every Day by Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall.

It’s a beautiful cookbook; just about every other page boasts some jealousy-inducing photo with a mouthwatering recipe to accompany it.  For some reason, it took me a few days to decide to make something from it.  It could be the beginning of the school semester and the mountain of work that is slowly piling on.  This will be my first time with a clinical placement in a hospital where I will be working with real, live patients.  I’m excited but have the novice nurse jitters about it.

Another thing that kept me away from this cookbook at first was the fact that most of the recipes seem extremely rich.  I’ve been craving somewhat light, healthy fare this week and, while you can certainly find that in this book, it is not the focus.  As I flipped through it this morning, the egg tartare recipe caught my eye and I noticed that I had almost all the ingredients on hand.  It sounded like it might be a good, protein-filled lunch to keep me satisfied during a 4-hour computer training I have tomorrow afternoon.

Of course I am incapable of actually following a recipe to the letter.  I made some substitutions based on what was in my herb garden and also because I don’t like mayonnaise.  You could definitely substitute the oil, sour cream, and yogurt for 1-2 Tbs of mayonnaise if you wanted to.

Egg Salad
serves 3-4

Ingredients:
– 6 hardboiled eggs, peeled and roughly chopped (click here for my favorite HB egg instructions)
– 1 Tbs fresh chives, finely chopped
– 1 Tbs fresh parsley, finely chopped
– 2 Tbs fresh dill, finely chopped
– 3 sweet baby pickles, finely chopped
– 1 Tbs capers, rinsed
– 2 Tbs sour cream
– 2 Tbs plain greek yogurt
– 1 Tbs olive oil
– 1 tsp Dijon mustard
– sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

1. Mix together all ingredients except the eggs until well combined.

2. Add eggs and stir until evenly coated.

3. Serve on bread for a sandwich or as a topping for your favorite salad greens.

I surprised myself by actually enjoying the taste of the sweet pickles in this recipe.  I have always had something against sweet pickles since I was a kid, when I chomped on a bread and butter pickle that I had assumed was a dill.  I thought it was disgusting at the time, but I decided to give these another chance since I seem to have also gotten over my hatred of olives this year.

Do you have any foods that you wouldn’t eat as a child but have recently begun to enjoy?

Leave a Reply

