Roasted Squash Seeds

Fall is definitely here and I already miss the warm, sunny days.  I’ve been consoling myself by staying busy in the kitchen.  While I don’t like what I’m seeing outside my windows, the warmth from my oven and fall’s earthy flavors provide an unmatched sense of coziness.

As the weather cools off, I find that I’m much more interested in more warming and concentrated foods.  Watermelon is out and root vegetables, nuts, and seeds are in.  One of the easiest way to satisfy these cravings is by roasting your own squash and/or pumpkin seeds.  I’ve done this often in the past but made the mistake of not keeping them in the oven long enough.  If the seeds don’t reach a nice golden-brown color, they’ll probably be more chewy and less crispy than you want.  These came out well and I devoured all of them after taking the picture.

Roasted Squash Seeds

– seeds from one squash (I used butternut)
– a few teaspoons of walnut or olive oil
– sea salt

1. Remove the gunk from the seeds and rinse well.  Pat dry or spread out in your pan and leave to dry overnight.
2. Preheat the oven to 350F.
3. Toss seeds with oil to coat and sprinkle with sea salt.
4. Bake for about 15 minutes, stirring halfway through.

As I was eating all the squash seeds I made, I began wondering if I could make them healthier by eliminating the oil and dry roasting.  I think I might try to find a good method for this next time.

Have you ever dry roasted squash or pumpkin seeds?  Any tips?

Leave a Reply

