Snack Smoothie

I love smoothies.  They are the nutrition powerhouse of my day and a great way to get more fruits and vegetables into my diet.  (Actually, I’ve never had trouble eating healthy amounts of fruit.  I could eat peaches all day.  It’s the vegetables that give me trouble.)  On any given morning, you can find me drinking a green monster which might include yogurt, nut butter, coconut milk, protein supplement, or any combination of the above.  I usually aim to make a smoothie that will satisfy me for several hours.  But sometimes I just need a little something to tide me over until the boyfriend wakes up and is ready to go to brunch as we planned.  I might also need something to fortify me against the unhealthy option I know I will encounter at the aforementioned brunch.  This is when “snack smoothie” comes to the rescue.

Sorry for the grainy iPod pic, we’re hunting for the camera battery charger.

Snack smoothie doesn’t cut it as a meal for me, but it’s a great option for taking the edge off hunger.  Which is especially useful if, like me, you become cranky and an awful person if you get too hungry.

Snack Smoothie
serves 1

– 1 small banana
– 1/2 cup red grapes
– 2 handfuls spinach
– just enough water to let the blender do its work

1. Say “snack smoothie” 10 times fast.
2. Blend ingredients until smooth.

 

What’s your favorite healthy snack?  Do you have any tips for warding off the hunger crankiness?

 

Leave a Reply

