Tiny Garden

Every time I move (which is more often than I would like) I think to myself, “This is the place where I will start a garden.”  Aside from planting some seeds once which I never watered and which, surprisingly, never grew into plants, I haven’t once succeeded in this endeavor.  But now might be the time.  My boyfriend and I moved into an apartment together in May

and after seeing our wonderful sun-filled patio, I turned to him and said, “This is the place where I will start a garden.”  Months passed and he finally decided that he was going to have to take the first steps for me.  He bought a planter box, soil, a sweet watering can, and some random plants.

Not the random plants you see above, though.  After promising to water and love my new garden forever, I quickly let the contents shrivel and die.

Take 2: My parent came to visit at the beginning of this month and my mom is a master gardener!  (I’m not exactly sure of what that means…I think she took a class or something and knows a lot more than me.)  I decided that they’re vacation would not be complete without some light yard work so we went to the nursery to pick out some new herbs and seeds, pulled out the old dead stuff, and re-vamped the garden.  I’m proud to say that it’s still looking pretty good, although the basil plant doesn’t seem to be much longer for this world.  The most exciting part of my new garden is the salad mix seeds planted in the middle section.  It only took 3-4 days for them to germinate (yeah, I learned what that means) so I had pretty quick gratification.  They’re still tiny plants but I love going out and seeing their progress.  And nibbling on a few.  That’s how I thin them out so the survivors have enough room to grow.


Leave a Reply

