Goji Berry Power Bars (Vegan, Gluten-Free)

Now that I’m on a little break from school, I have the time to make healthy to-go snacks…the kind that would have been perfect to take with me to school.  Sigh.  I guess that’s life.  I really shouldn’t be complaining, though.  These little bars turned out wonderfully and they’re packed with healthy ingredients.

Here are just a few reasons for why they are so good:

Dates: Instead of using refined sugar, I used dates as the sweetener.  Dates  are full of fiber, potassium, magnesium, and copper.  Yes, they contain quite a bit of fruit sugar, but I think it’s nice to get vitamins and minerals at the same time.

Hemp protein: Hemp protein is another fiber powerhouse and the protein gives these bars a bit more staying power.  And did I mention that hemp protein is a good source of Omega-3 fatty acids?  Well, now I have.

Chia seeds: Chia seeds might be my favorite new-to-me food.  They really help bind other ingredients together and they are full of antioxidants, calcium, and omega-3′s.

Goji berries: Have you had these bright red little berries, yet?  If you haven’t, I urge you to give them a try.  They’re not incredibly sweet, but they have nice, complex flavor.  They have incredibly high antioxidant power, meaning they’ll save your cells from damaging free radicals and they’re just pretty to look at.  They can tend to be slightly hard when dried, which is why this recipe requires soaking them in hot water before use, but I still think they are a great addition to oatmeal and trail mixes.

I hope these bars can help sustain you through your busy weeks.  As for me, I’m on my way to enjoy a sunny barbecue at the park.  School’s out for…well, 2 weeks!

Goji Berry Power Bars
makes 8 bars

Ingredients
- 1 cup dates
- 1/4 cup cashews
- 1/4 cup coconut oil
- 3 Tbsp hemp protein
- 2 Tbsp chia seeds
- 1 cup oats
- 1/2 cup goji berries

Start by softening the goji berries.  Place them in a bowl and pour boiling water over them. Allow to sit in the water for 5-10 minutes.  Drain.

Place dates, cashews, coconut oil, hemp protein, and chia seeds in a food processor.  Process until dates have formed a paste and ingredients are completely mixed.  Add oats and goji berries.  Pulse the mixture until everything is well-distributed.

Press mixture into an 8×8 pan.  Chill in the refrigerator for at least an hour (this will allow the coconut oil to harden so the bars will hold their shape).  Cut into 8 rectangles, remove from pan, and wrap in tin foil so they’re ready to pop into lunch bags.  Store for up to 1 week in the refrigerator.

* I shared this post with this week’s Gluten Free Wednesday, Whole Food Wednesday, Whole Foods Wednesday, Real Food WednesdayFat Tuesday and Tasty Tuesday.

9 thoughts on “Goji Berry Power Bars (Vegan, Gluten-Free)

  1. Pingback: Strawberry, Goji Berry, Cinnamon, Coconut, Raw Granola Buckwheat’ies | Gold Within

  2. Pingback: Raw Fruit and Nut Chocolate. | Gold Within

  3. Pingback: Be My Berry Pie | dishes and dishes

Leave a Reply

