Almond Flour Brownies (Grain-Free)

I hesitated a little before starting this post.  I’ve noticed a chocolate theme emerging on this blog recently and I don’t want you to think I have a one-track mind.  Except that I do.

And these brownies are capable of satisfying even a die-hard chocoholic’s need.  They’re dense, moist, sweet without being cloying, and, yes, chocolate-y.  The espresso powder gives them a little extra bitter note, which I think contrasts well with the sweetness.  It’s optional, but I highly recommend adding it if you have some.  Eating these reminded me of the brownies of my youth.  Sometime during high school, I discovered Ghirardelli’s double chocolate brownie mix (complete with extra chocolate chips) and came to believe that the best brownies in the world came out of that box.  I’m sure I ate way too many of them, since that’s what high-schoolers do, and I certainly never thought of making my own from scratch.  How far I’ve come!

These are definitely my new go-to.  While they are definitely not healthy in the way that, say, a kale salad is healthy, there are a few things you can do to feel more virtuous about enjoying them:

1. Use grass-fed butter.  I use Kerrygold and, while it’s more expensive than your regular grocery store butter, I believe it’s worth every cent.  Grass-fed butter contains a better ratio of omega 3 to omega 6 fats.  Americans tend to be overloaded with omega 6’s and this is a good way to help tip the balance in a healthier direction.  Grass-fed butter is also a good source of Vitamins A and K2.  Learn more about why you might want to consider buying grass-fed here.

2. Try palm sugar.  Made from the flowers on coconut trees, palm sugar is a low glycemic sweetener (meaning it won’t cause drastic spikes in your blood sugar) that can be used just like regular sugar.  It’s also rich in vitamins.

3. Make your own almond flour by pulverizing soaked and dehydrated nuts in a food processor.  I talked a little about why I do this here.

You don’t HAVE to do any of these things to make wonderful brownies.  I just figured that I spend so much time researching nerdy health topics that I should pass along some of what I’ve learned.  Either way, I hope you enjoy!

Almond Flour Brownies
makes an 8×8 pan
very slightly adapted from The Wannabe Chef

Ingredients
– 3/4 cup almond flour
– 1/4 tsp salt
– 2 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
– 1/2 tsp baking powder
– 1 tsp espresso powder
– 3/4 cup dark chocolate chips, divided
– 1/2 cup butter
– 3/4 cup palm sugar
– 3 eggs
– 1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 350F.  In a large bowl, combine almond flour, salt, cocoa powder, baking powder, and espresso powder.

In the microwave or on the stove, melt together 1/2 cup of the chocolate chips and butter.  Set aside.  In a separate bowl, combine palm sugar, eggs and vanilla.

Add liquid ingredients to dry ingredients.  If your chocolate mixture is very hot, you may want to wait to add it until the egg mixture has been somewhat incorporated into the flour to avoid cooking the eggs.  Fold in remaining chocolate chips.

Pour batter into an 8×8 pan and bake for about 30 minutes, until a knife inserted into the center comes out clean.

* I added this post to this week’s Whole Food Wednesday, Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways, Real Food Wednesday, Full Plate Thursday, and Gluten Free Wednesdays.

11 thoughts on “Almond Flour Brownies (Grain-Free)

    • Wow, that looks like a great recipe! I’ve only used black beans in this way once before but it was in a recipe that also called for oats. I’d love to give it a try this way!

  1. You know that I want to dig my spoon right into that bottom photo, don’t you? Yum. And I have to admit something: I use that brownie mix. I make so many things from scratch, but I really have always thought, as you said, that I couldn’t do better. You might be inspiring me to try!

  2. Pingback: 7 “FATS” to Get your tummy FLAT | abysmalfitness

  3. These sound great! I love the ingredients too, although I’m slightly afraid to use palm sugar—I read an article that it is “harvested” at the sacrifice of coconuts so it’s an unsustainable practice…and although I love sweetness, I’d rather have coconut oil!
    I definitely ate my share of boxed brownies back in the day…and have yet to find an awesome one to make (well, till now, it seems!). I will definitely bookmark these to try!

    • Lisa, thanks for the information about the palm sugar. I knew there was some controversy surrounding it, but wasn’t sure why. Just curious, what type of sweetener do you prefer to use? I think I’ve seen stevia in a few of your recipes but I’m afraid I can’t get over the taste. Any other suggestions? I’m sure you’ve done your research :)

  4. Those Brownies look awesome! Hope you are having a wonderful Spring day. Thank you so much for sharing your great recipe with Full Plate Thursday and come back soon!
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

