Sunny Avocado Salad with Chive Dressing

Even though it’s still only February, I’m beginning to feel spring poking its head around the corner.  The sun is coming out for at least 15 minutes every day and I’ve noticed tulips pushing their stems out of the ground already.  I even saw a couple purple irises in bloom yesterday!  I’m certainly not naive enough to believe that winter is fully behind us, but I’m starting to dream about the summer days ahead.

I made this salad to fuel my optimism.  The light, green colors are perfect for looking ahead to the coming season but the ingredients are still readily available in season.  You don’t have to buy tomatoes flown in from Mexico to put some spring in your step (apologies for the pun).

In other news, I’m looking forward to a relatively lazy weekend of drinking coffee at home, reading for class, and looking out the window at the sun that peeks out now and then.  Tonight, Jeremy and I are going to a record release party for an album that he mixed.  Perfect.

Sunny Avocado Salad with Chive Dressing
makes 2 large salads
adapted from The Alkaline Sisters

For the salad:
– 1 crisp head of butter lettuce, cut in half
– 1/2 avocado
– 2 Tbsp sunflower seed

For the dressing:
–  2 Tbsp olive oil
– juice from half a lemon
– 1/4 tsp sea salt
– 1/4 tsp tamari
– 1/4 avocado
– 2 Tbsp sunflower seeds, soaked for 15 minutes
– 4 Tbsp water
– 2 Tbsp fresh chives

1.  Blend all dressing ingredients until smooth.

2.  Arrange 1/2 head of lettuce on each plate, spoon dressing over it, and then garnish with avocado and sunflower seeds.  Use a knife to cut it up as you eat.

* I added this post to Melt in Your Mouth Monday, Weekend Gourmet, Real Food 101, and Monday Mania.

One thought on “Sunny Avocado Salad with Chive Dressing

  1. Mmmm…this sounds so good! I feel the same way about spring too—we really have gotten about 15 minutes of sun each day in the past week (and also some crazy wind and snow…but I’m ignoring that!). So there is an essence of spring, and I’m all for it!

Leave a Reply

