Quinoa-Salmon Cakes

Let me tell you how relieved I am to finally be writing this post.  I usually have a list of recipes I want to try and then share with you.  And this week I have been busy trying…and trying…and trying.  Yesterday, there were coconut pancakes that completely flopped.  I made a batch of wonderful potato soup, ate half of it, and then froze the other half to photograph and write my post with.  When I defrosted it, it had the strangest texture I’ve ever seen in a soup. (Can somebody enlighten me about this?  Should potato soup just never be frozen for later?)  I made not one, but two batches of dehydrated kale chips and ate them so promptly that the camera never had a chance.  So you can imagine my relief last night when I made tasty AND photogenic salmon cakes for dinner.

Served with oven fries and sautéed chard.

I’m going to let you in a secret about saving money on the salmon here.  When I was at the fish counter in the grocery store looking over my options, I noticed that the cheapest way to get salmon was in the form of salmon burgers.  I asked about the ingredients (I didn’t want to pay for any “fillers”) and it turns out they were just wild-caught salmon with some herbs and spices.  It was from the exact same fish being sold as steaks and fillets.  I imagine they just use the less perfectly shaped bits to make the burgers.  So if you don’t mind having a little less control over the seasonings included in your patties, you can always look for this option.  Or you could buy canned salmon.

To learn more about safe and environmentally-friendly fish choices, have a look at this quick guide from the Environmental Defense Fund.  It rates fish based on sustainability and levels of mercury or PCBs.

Quinoa-Salmon Patties
makes 6 patties
adapted from the Whole Life Nutrition Kitchen 

Ingredients
- 2 Tbs fresh chives
- 1 large handful cilantro
- zest from 1 lemon
- 1 tsp salt
- 1/2 tsp cayenne
- 1 lb wild salmon (skinned and de-boned if necessary)
- 1 cup cooked quinoa
- 1-2 Tbs olive oil

1.  In a food processor with an “S” blade, pulse herbs and spices several times until minced.

2. Add salmon and quinoa and pulse together until evenly mixed.  Form into patties and set aside.

3. Heat olive oil over medium-high heat in a large skillet.  Add salmon patties (I could only fit 3 at a time) and cook for 3-4 minutes on each side, until lightly browned and cooked through.

* This post is part of the Weekend Gourmet Blog Carnival, Melt in Your Mouth Monday, Real Food 101, Fat Tuesday, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Traditional Tuesday, Hearth and Soul Hop, Gluten-Free Wednesday, Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways, Real Food Wednesday, and Monday Mania.

16 thoughts on “Quinoa-Salmon Cakes

  1. Lovely combination! I’ve never thought of adding quinoa to a burger or fishcake but this makes perfect sense. I wish I could enlighten you on the potato freezing question, as it doesn’t make sense to me either. Was it a cream-based soup? Did it split? What happened to it?

    • No, it wasn’t cream-based. It’s kind of hard to describe except to say that it never went back to a liquid form. It had a kind of fibrous, semisolid thing going on and when I tried to mix it, it just broke up into chunks. Mmmm, chunk soup…

  2. That’s a great tip about the salmon! I’m definitely going to pursue that idea tomorrow :-)
    I vaguely remember my mom telling me that potatoes don’t freeze/thaw well…but I could be dreaming that up!

  3. I have read and experienced that freezing potatoes makes them mealy. BTW, the salmon looks delicious. I’m going to try it this week.

  4. Thanks for linking your great post to FAT TUESDAY. This was very interesting! Hope to see you next week!

    Be sure to visit RealFoodForager.com on Sunday for Sunday Snippets – your post from Fat Tuesday may be featured there!
    http://realfoodforager.com/fat-tuesday-january-17-2012/

    Share your great fermented food recipes at my Probiotic Food Linky – open through Februray 6, 2012.
    http://realfoodforager.com/probiotic-food-challenge-linky/

  5. I ONCE FROZE COOKED POTATOS – IT DOESNT WORK. THEY TURN TO MUSH. MAY I LEAVE YOU WITH A “RECIPE” TO TRY OUT.
    1 CAN SALMON DRAINED OF LIQUID
    CHOPPED RAW BELL PEPPER
    FINELY CHOPPED LEFTOVER ROASTED BROCCOI AND CARROTS 1/2 – 1 CUP
    SPRINKLE OF DILL, GARLIC POWDER, ONION POWDER, SALT, PEPPER AND ANY OTHER SEASONING YOU MIGHT LIKE
    1 CAPFUL LIQUID SMOKE
    EGG SUBSTITUTE (1 TBSP FLAXSEED MEAL AND 3 TBSP WATER MIXED TOGETHER)
    ABOUT 2 TABLESPOONS QUINOA FLOUR
    MIX ALL TOGETHER FORM INTO PATTIES REFRIGERATE A FEW HOURS TO HELP PATTIES HOLD SHAPE
    DRIZZLE YOUR CHOICE OF OIL IN NON STICK SKILLET (I USE PECAN OIL)
    COOK UNTIL BROWN ON BOTH SIDES.

  6. I USE CANNED SALMON, QUINOA FLOUR, ROASTED AND COARSELY CHOPPED BROCCOLI, EGG SUBSTITUTE (WATER AND GROUND FLAXSEED) SEASONING OF CHOICE (I USE GARLIC (OR POWDER), LIQUID SMOKE, SALT, PEPPER, ONION POWDER AND DILL). COOK IN MINIMUM AMOUNT OF OIL OF CHOICE AND ENJOY – VERY SATISFYING. GREAT FOR CELIAC AND OTHER FOOD ALLERGIES SUCH AS DAIRY ETC.

Leave a Reply

