Simple Arugula Salad with Olives and Avocado

Scrolling back through the last few weeks of my posts here, I notice a definite trend: veggies.  One reason for this is that we’ve entered the new year.  It feels like a good time to lighten things up after the holidays and work on habits that will (hopefully) stay put as resolution-making time gets farther behind us.  The other reason is not nearly as virtuous.  We have a cupboard full of treats that were mailed to us by Jeremy’s mom and grandmother.  There are brownies with a layer of toffee in the middle (I know!  Genius!), rice krispy treats, candied pecans, and truffles.  In the freezer, I have a stash of poundcake and molasses-espresso cake we have yet to get to.  I won’t be needing to whip up treats for a little while yet.

When I do, you’ll be the first to know.  For now, I’ve got an amazingly simple and satisfying salad to share with you.  Peppery arugula, salty olives, and creamy avocado come together with an easy lemon vinaigrette.  I had this for lunch today and even ended up throwing some smoked salmon on the top…definitely not necessary but I think the protein gave the whole thing a bit more staying power.  I have enough ingredients left over to have it again tomorrow and I can’t wait!

Simple Arugula Salad with Olives and Avocado
serves 2
Adapted from The Food Lover’s Primal Palate

Ingredients:

For the salad

– 3-4 cups arugula
– 1 avocado, cubed
– 20 kalamata olives, halved

For the dressing
juice from half a lemon
– 1 Tbsp olive oil
– pinch of salt
– pinch of dried rosemary

1. With a fork, mix dressing ingredients until well combined.

2. On a large plate (or in your take-to-work tupperware!), layer arugula, avocado, and olives.  Drizzle with dressing.

* I added this link to this week’s Full Plate Thursday Simple Lives Thursday, Fresh Bites Friday, Fight Back Friday, and Pennywise Platter.

5 thoughts on “Simple Arugula Salad with Olives and Avocado

  1. Your Arugula Salad looks so fresh and delicious. I love the Olives and Avocado combination. Thank you so much for sharing on our 1st Anniversary Party for Full Plate Thursday. Have a great week end and come back soon!
    Miz Helen

  2. Mmmmm! The flavors with the textures of avo and olive sound so good!
    I’ve been adding in more veg lately too–the holidays put some kind of reverse psychology to me. All I could think after christmas was, please don’t make me eat more desserts! lol. (that will wear off fast though)
    Hope you have a great weekend!

  3. Congratulations!
    Your recipe is featured on Full Plate Thursday this week. Hope you are having a wonderful day and enjoy your new Red Plate.
    Hope to see you soon,
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

