Savory Mung Bean Pancakes with Miso-Tahini Kale

When I go to the grocery store, I am usually very good about keeping to my list.  Impulse purchases tend to languish in my pantry until their expiration date has passed.  Or, if the impulse purchase happens to be a box of Oreos, it will be gobbled up in a matter of days and ruin my appetite for all the healthy meals I had planned.  So, for me, the shopping list is a must.

Yesterday, though, I came across an intriguing item that I decided I had to try.


(Source)

For the record, I have no idea of why I decided I needed some sprouted mung beans.  I didn’t know anything about how to use them except for what I had learned from Creed in “The Office”.  When I got home, I began an internet search to learn about what to do with these little legumes and I found the perfect solution at Choosing Raw.  And so this morning, I had an extremely satisfying (and tasty!) breakfast, which I think will be first of many forays into the world of mung beans.

P.S. I think this would make a great lunch or dinner, too!

Savory Mung Bean Pancakes with Miso Tahini-Kale
adapted from Gena’s recipe
serves 2

For the pancakes:

Ingredients

- 1/2 cup sprouted mung beans (you can use regular mung beans as well, but follow cooking directions on package prior to making pancakes)
– 2/3 cups water
– 1/4 cups chickpea flour
– 1/4 cup brown rice flour
– 1/2 tsp baking soda
– 1 tsp tamari or soy sauce
– 1/4 tsp sesame oil
– 1 tsp agave syrup or brown rice syrup
– 1/2 shallot, minced (about 1 Tbs)
– 1/2 tsp sea salt
– oil of choice or butter, for the pan (I used olive oil.)

1. In a small saucepan, bing a few cups of water to a boil.  Add the mung beans and boil for about 5 minutes.  Remove from heat and let stand, covered, for another 8-10 minutes.  (If you are using regular, unsprouted mung beans, skip this step and just follow the cooking directions on the package.)

2. Place mung beans, flours, water, and baking soda in the blender.  Blend until very smooth.  Consistency should be thick but pourable.

3. In a large bowl, combine mung bean batter and remaining ingredients.  Mix until well combined.  (You can store this in the refrigerator overnight.)

4. Heat oil in a frying pan over medium-high heat.  Drop the batter by spoonfuls into the pan, with each pancake containing about 2 large spoonfuls of batter.  Cook until you see bubbles on the top side of the pancakes and then flip.  Cook on the other side until golden brown.  Serve warm with miso-tahini kale.

For the Miso-Tahini Kale

Ingredients:

- 1/2 cup shiitake mushrooms, sliced
– 2 cups lacinato kale, de-stemmed and cut into bite-sized pieces
– 2 tsp tamari or soy sauce
– 1 Tbs tahini
– 2 tsp white (or yellow) miso paste

1. In a large sauce pan, heat a few tablespoons of water.  Add mushrooms and soy sauce and cook until mushrooms are softened.  If all the water evaporates from the pan, just go ahead and add a few extra tablespoons.

2. Add the kale and cook until slightly wilted.  Add tahini and miso paste and stir to combine.  Serve warm with pancakes.

*This post is included in this week’s Real Food 101 and Ruth’s Real food, Melt in Your Mouth Monday at Make-Ahead Meals for Busy Moms, Monday Mania at the Healthy Home Economist, Ingredient Challenge Monday at And Love it Too!, and the Weekend Gourmet Blog Carnival at Hartke is Online.
3 thoughts on “Savory Mung Bean Pancakes with Miso-Tahini Kale

    • Haha, and they really didn’t smell bad at all to me! Maybe they smell that way when they’re sprouting? I’m glad I’m not the only person to associate mung beans with Creed :)

Leave a Reply

