Chocolate Chunk Cookies

These are not healthy.  When I was contemplating making cookies, I thought about how I should substitute applesauce for some of the butter.  Then I started baking and it completely slipped my mind.  So despite the inclusion of ingredients like whole wheat pastry flour and brown rice syrup, please do not think I’m trying to pass these off as a health food.   They are just delicious.

I used to use whole wheat flour for all my baking, including treats like these.  It’s hard for me to reconcile my desire to be healthy with using refined carbohydrates in any of my recipes.  The problem with this was that I could always taste the whole wheat even when I didn’t necessarily want to.  I’m not sure how this drama in my kitchen is going to end, but for now I’m going with the tactic of using about half whole wheat flour and half all-purpose flour in this kind of recipe.  As a trade-off, I’m going to try to eat fewer of the cookies.  Wish me luck with that.


Chocolate Chunk Cookies

makes 2 dozen cookies

based on Angela’s recipe from Oh She Glows

Ingredients:
- 1 stick butter (8 Tbs), softened
- 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
- 1/4 cup brown rice syrup
- 1 egg
- 1 tsp vanilla extract
- 1/2 tsp baking soda
- 1/2 tsp salt
- 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
- 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
- 1/4 tsp cinnamon
- 1/2 cup rolled oats
- 1/2 cup roughly chopped walnuts
- 1/2 cup dark chocolate chunks

1. Preheat the oven to 350F and lightly grease 2 cookie sheets.
2. Cream butter and brown sugar.  Mix in egg, brown rice syrup, and vanilla.
3. Mix together dry ingredients except walnuts and chocolate chunks.  Mix dry ingredients into wet ingredients and mix until well-incorporated.  Fold in walnuts and chocolate chunks.
4. Drop by the spoonful onto the baking sheets and bake for 10-12 minutes.

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Chunk Cookies

  1. Sometimes, healthy is over-rated. I love these cookies – and I consider them healthy since you used brown rice syrup. I’ve recently bought some, but haven’t used it yet. Might try it with these delicious sounding cookies! Thanks for adding these into our cookie blog hop this month!!

Leave a Reply

